SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: Heyday: BBC Radio Sessions, 1968-1969 [UK Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Close the Door Lightly When You Go
2)    I Don't Know Where I Stand
3)    Some Sweet Day
4)    Reno, Nevada
5)    Suzanne
6)    If It Feels Good, You Know It Can't Be Wrong
7)    I Still Miss Someone
8)    Bird on a Wire
9)    Gone, Gone, Gone
10)    Tried So Hard
11)    Shattering Live Experience
12)    Percy's Song
13)    You Never Wanted Me
14)    Nottamun Town
15)    Fotheringay
16)    Si Tu Dois Partir
17)    Cajun Woman
18)    Autopsy
19)    Reynardine
20)    Tam Lin
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Richard Thompson (vocals, guitar); Ian Matthews, Sandy Denny (vocals); Simon Nicol (guitar); Dave Swarbrick, Rick Grech (violin); Dave Mattacks, Martin Lamble (drums).
  • Recording information: 201 Piccadilly, Studio 1 (05/28/1968-08/26/1968); Aeolian Hall, Studio 2 (05/28/1968-08/26/1968); Maida Vale, Studio 4 (05/28/1968-08/26/1968); The Playhouse Theatre (05/28/1968-08/26/1968).
  • Arrangers: Fairport Convention; Dave Swarbrick.
  • HEYDAY is a set of 1968 BBC radio performances by Fairport Convention. The tracks were recorded after Sandy Denny had joined, but prior to the band's tragic road accident that claimed the life of drummer Martin Lamble and shook the spirit of the band. These dozen songs show the band's fascination with American music and songwriters (a fact that was also quite evident on their self-titled debut).
  • With two formidable front-line singers, Denny and Ian Matthews, the band's versions of songs by Bob Dylan, Leonard Cohen, Joni Mitchell, Gene Clark, Johnny Cash, the Everly Brothers and others are given strong and believable treatments. An early original by Richard Thompson shows him to still be under the spell of his record collection, but his guitar playing is already uniquely his own, a remarkable accomplishment for one not yet twenty years old. These songs are rich with the joy of a band glad to be playing together and in love with their material.
Professional Reviews
Q (2/02, p.122) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...A vintage delight..."

Goldmine - Sound Quality 3 Stars - Good.

Mojo (Publisher) (April 2002, p.126) - "...The tunes are mostly covers, but performed with zinging zeal....this is the sound of a band caught at their absolute creative peak."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Heyday: BBC Radio Sessions, 1968-1969 [UK Bonus Tracks] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top