Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Higher Truth

Album: Higher Truth
# Song Title   Time
1)    Nearly Forgot My Broken Heart
2)    Dead Wishes
3)    Worried Moon
4)    Before We Disappear
5)    Through the Window
6)    Josephine
7)    Murderer of Blue Skies
8)    Higher Truth
9)    Let Your Eyes Wander
10)    Only These Words
11)    Circling
12)    Our Time in the Universe
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Chris Cornell (vocals, guitar, mandolin, percussion); Brendan O'Brien (guitar, hurdy-gurdy, keyboards, drums, percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: Brendan O'Brien .
  • Recording information: Henson Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA.
  • Photographer: Jeff Lipsky.
  • Chris Cornell flew toward the sun with 2009's Scream but he got burned. The Timbaland-produced album marked a sudden shift toward electronic pop, a move that did not sit well with either critics or Cornell's audience, but he didn't react swiftly to the derision. He moved slowly, revisiting his catalog on 2011's Songbook and then reuniting with Soundgarden before releasing Higher Truth some six years after Scream. Hiring producer Brendan O'Brien, a fellow veteran of the grunge wars of the '90s, suggests Cornell is backpedaling from the chilly electro surfaces of his last solo album, but Higher Truth isn't quite a retreat. Cornell possess an easy, quiet confidence throughout this handsome, burnished record, an album that occasionally recalls the breaking twilight of Euphoria Mourning but feels warmer and looser than that 1999 solo debut. Despite the ornate accouterments of the opener "Nearly Forgot My Broken Heart" -- a pop single so stately it's almost Baroque -- Higher Truth isn't especially dramatic. O'Brien favors subtle shading over bombast, so even when the tracks are built up with pianos, strings, harmonies, and fuzz guitars, it feels intimate, almost acoustic. This illusion persists because there are a fair share of spare, delicate solo numbers here, interwoven among those bolder but still quiet pop tunes. While Higher Truth never seems as self-consciously confessional as Euphoria Mourning, this mellow simplicity is an attribute: a relaxed Cornell creates a comforting mood piece that's enveloping in its warmth. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Professional Reviews
Clash (magazine) - "Opener 'Nearly Forgot My Broken Heart' sets the tone admirably with a little sparse bluegrass plucking that is soon accompanied by that unmistakable roar and solid drumming."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Grunge
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Higher Truth on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top