Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

His Best 1947 To 1956

Album: His Best 1947 To 1956
# Song Title   Time
1)    I Can't Be Satisfied More Info... 2:44
2)    I Feel Like Going Home More Info... 3:12
3)    Train Fare Home Single Version More Info... 2:48
4)    Rollin' And Tumblin' Part One More Info... 3:01
5)    Rollin' Stone Single Version More Info... 3:08
6)    Louisiana Blues More Info... 2:55
7)    Long Distance Call More Info... 2:42
8)    Honey Bee More Info... 3:23
9)    She Moves Me Single Version More Info... 2:58
10)    Still A Fool Single Version More Info... 3:20
11)    Standing Around Crying Single Version More Info... 3:23
12)    Baby, Please Don't Go More Info... 3:18
13)    Mad Love (I Want You To Love Me) More Info... 3:03
14)    (I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man More Info... 2:50
15)    I Just Want To Make Love To You Single Version More Info... 2:52
16)    I'm Ready Single Version More Info... 3:05
17)    Young Fashioned Ways Single Version More Info... 3:02
18)    Mannish Boy Single Version More Info... 2:58
19)    Sugar Sweet 1955 Single Version More Info... 2:32
20)    Trouble No More Single Version More Info... 2:40
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • This is part of Chess' 50th Anniversary Collection series.
  • Imagine what the world might have been like without Muddy Waters. It's not a pretty thought. His contributions to the electric blues-and, by extension, to the advent of rock & roll-are inestimable, and his beautifully soulful vocals and slashing slide guitar work are the stuff of which legend is made. This collection, which gathers together Waters' early, seminal work for Chess Records between 1947 and 1955, is almost to good to be true.
  • Improving on the wildly popular BEST OF MUDDY WATERS with eight more tracks (20 to BEST OF's 12) and superior, remastered sound, this set is simply IT. "His best" is no exaggeration; all the critical tracks are here: "Long Distance Call," "Baby Please Don't Go," "I'm Your Hootchie Cootchie Man," "I Just Want To Make Love To You"...the list goes on. Such incendiary, top-drawer bluesmen as harp player Little Walter, bassist Willie Dixon, and guitarist Jimmy Rogers add fuel to the fire. With the exception of the multi-disc Chess box set, one would be hard pressed to find a better collection by the legendary Waters under one seal. Essential.
Professional Reviews
Down Beat (8/97, p.60) - 4 stars (out of 5) - "...the audience for this most suitable for novices looking to launch an investigation of great Chicago Blues....the power of Waters'...singing and...bottleneck present in all its magnificence."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues » Chicago Blues
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling His Best 1947 To 1956 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top