Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: Honey
# Song Title   Time
1)    Honey
2)    Who Am I
3)    So Far Away
4)    Chase Me
5)    Lose Your Head
6)    I Wanna Be
7)    Calm Down
8)    Heavy
9)    Turn the Music Louder (Rumble)
10)    Dark Delirium
11)    Water Rising
12)    Dreamers
13)    Honey (Outro)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: Katy B.
  • Recording information: Risne Studios, London; The Premises, London.
  • The impending release of Katy B's third album was announced with an image that displayed the names of all the collaborators. So extensive that it was divided into columns, the listing looked like a poster for an all-day, three-stage dance music festival hosted by the singer and songwriter. Old colleague Geeneus excepted, none of Katy B's collaborators here is involved with more than one track. The roster of producers and guest artists is deep and eye-popping indeed, a mix of underground progressives and mainstream-level fusionists that includes veteran grime MCs, younger house producers, and upcoming vocalists. Somewhat surprisingly, the album doesn't play out like a bundle of 13 disconnected songs with platinum aspirations. At the top in running order and quality is "Honey," a lustful slow jam produced by Kaytranada that rides a bobbing two-note bassline. Just under it is "Calm Down," scuffed-up, strings-enhanced neo-garridge made with Four Tet and Floating Points, and an uncharacteristically smoothed-out production from Chris Lorenzo. Slotted into the album's latter half is a Tinie Tempah-less version of the breakbeat belter "Turn the Music Louder (Rumble)," the original of which, billed as KDA featuring Katy B, was released six months prior to the album and topped the U.K. pop chart. Katy, whose almost regal quality now seems to be on the brink of being as visible as her everywoman traits, continues to evolve as a writer and vocalist. ~ Andy Kellman
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Effortlessly moving between genres, she makes sure to put an R&B stamp on each song, keeping all the opposing styles and approaches from veering into chaos."

Spin - "Her vocals dance around the beats as gloriously as ever, particularly on the thick and bassy single 'Turn the Music Louder.'"

NME (Magazine) - "`Calm Down', Katy's much discussed team-up with Four Tet and Floating Points, is a brilliant slice of weirdo disco."

Clash (Magazine) - "[A] glossy, continuous mix playing in the background as you ready yourself for a night on the grind, probably exactly as Katy intended."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Honey on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top