Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Hospital Music *

Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!
Album: Hospital Music *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Champions of Nothing
2)    Single Explosion, A
3)    Metal Airplanes
4)    99% of Us Is Failure
5)    Born Losers
6)    Odette
7)    Black Helicopter
8)    Boy Come Home, The
9)    Devil's in Your Details, The
10)    Moon Over Marin
11)    Girl Wedged Under the Front of the Firebird
12)    I Am Not Safer Than a Bank
13)    I'm a Window
14)    She's in It for the Money
15)    True Love Will Find You in the End
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Matthew Good (vocals, guitar); Rod Bruno (guitar, bass guitar); Ryan Dahle (guitar); Pat Steward (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Zach Blackstone.
  • Recording information: Warehouse Studios, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.
  • The unvarnished title of Matthew Good's third solo album refers to the circumstances preceding the writing and recording of this 2007 set. In the summer of 2006, following a divorce and a growing period of emotional instability, Good attempted suicide via an overdose of sleeping pills and was subsequently diagnosed with bipolar disorder. All of this severe emotional trauma colors the dark and vulnerable-sounding Hospital Music, but in a way that's encouragingly lacking in self-exploitation. Rather than directly addressing his personal details in the lyrics, most of these 15 songs are oblique character studies like "Girl Wedged Under the Front of the Firebird," a brief interlude for backwards guitars and tortured lyrics with an unexpected resemblance to late-era Radiohead, and the nine-and-a-half-minute multi-part opener, "Champions of Nothing," which sets out the album's themes of betrayal (of self and others) in lyrics as impressionistic as the music. Though occasional lines seem likely to directly address elements of Good's personal life, Hospital Music is not the sort of album that requires all the gossip and back story to truly understand; indeed, the most emotionally direct song on here, "99% of Us Is Failure," is addressed to a grieving friend, and that outward orientation -- also seen on songs like the politically minded "Born Losers" and the comparatively upbeat "I'm a Window" -- keeps Hospital Music from becoming a protracted wallow. Good also includes a pair of unexpectedly brilliant covers, a complete transformation of the Dead Kennedys' "Moon Over Marin" into an unexpectedly lovely acoustic tune and a tender, honest take on Daniel Johnston's wistful "True Love Will Find You in the End," to close the set. Not easy listening by a long shot, Hospital Music repays close listening through its creation of a consistent mood of unease, leavened only slightly by Good's melodic gifts. ~ Stewart Mason
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Hospital Music * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top