SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

Hound Dog

Album: Hound Dog: Duke-Peacock Recordings
# Song Title   Time
1)    Hound Dog
2)    My Man Called Me
3)    I Smell a Rat
4)    They Call Me Big Mama
5)    You Don't Move Me No More - (previously unreleased)
6)    Let Your Tears Fall Baby - (previously unreleased)
7)    Rock-A-Bye Baby - (previously unreleased)
8)    Yes, Baby - (previously unreleased)
9)    How Come - (previously unreleased)
10)    Nightmare - (previously unreleased)
11)    Stop A-Hoppin' on Me - (previously unreleased)
12)    Just Like a Dog (Barking up the Wrong Tree) - (previously unreleased)
13)    Walking Blues
14)    Big Chance, The
15)    Hard Times - (previously unreleased)
16)    Laugh, Laugh, Laugh - (previously unreleased)
17)    Fish, The - (previously unreleased)
18)    I've Searched The Whole World Over
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Willie Mae "Big Mama" Thornton (vocals); Pete Lewis, Roy Gaines (guitar); Billy Harvey, James Von Streeter (tenor saxophone); Fred Ford (baritone saxophone); Don Johnson (trumpet); George Washington (trombone); Devonia Williams (piano); Albert Winston (bass); Leard Bell (drums).
  • Reissue producer: Andy McKaie.
  • Recorded in Houston, Texas and Los Angeles, California from 1952-1957. Includes liner notes by Mary Katherine Aldin.
  • Digitally remastered by Erick Labson (MCA Studios, North Hollywood, California) except "Yes, Baby" (transferred from the original 78 r.p.m. by Steven Lasker, Venice, California).
  • HOUND DOG contains material recorded for Peacock Records from 1952-1958, much of which had been released in America only as singles.
  • Personnel: Big Mama Thornton (vocals); Muddy Waters, Pete "Guitar" Lewis, Roy Gaines (guitar); James Cotton (harmonica); James Von Streeter, Bill Harvey (tenor saxophone); Fred Ford (baritone saxophone); Don Johnson (trumpet); George Washington (trombone); Devonia Williams, Otis Spann (piano); Johnny Otis (vibraphone, drums); Francis Clay, Leard Bell (drums).
  • Audio Remasterer: Erick Labson.
  • Recording information: Houston; Los Angeles, CA.
  • If you've never heard Big Mama Thornton's version of "Hound Dog" (recorded years before Elvis Presley's legendary take)--or any of the singer's muscular R&B efforts--you'd do yourself a service to investigate this collection. The classic Leiber & Stoller cut opens this set on a torrid note, with its spare but inspired instrumentation and exceptionally well-executed canine-mimicking yelps from the singer. A nostalgic big-band feel pervades many of these cuts, especially the swinging "They Call Me Big Mama," the doo-wop-flecked "My Man Called Me," and the electric-guitar streaked "Rock-A-Bye Baby." The majority of the remaining tracks are down-and-out meditations typified by the dire 12-bar blues "Hard Times." Few can make feeling bad sound as good as Big Mama Thornton.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (2/19/93, p.64) - "...Now 40 years young, these frisky numbers still rock & roll like a cement mixer..." - Rating: A
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Hound Dog: Duke-Peacock Recordings on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top