SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

How Country Feels *

Album: How Country Feels *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Runnin' Outta Moonlight
2)    Growin' Younger
3)    Top of the World
4)    Singer, The
5)    Power of a Song
6)    Absolutely Nothing
7)    Wherever Love Goes - (featuring Kristy Lee Cook)
8)    Like a Cowboy
9)    How Country Feels
10)    Along for the Ride
11)    Sunshine on the Line
12)    Goodnight Kiss
13)    Let's Not Let It
14)    Shine
15)    Route 3 Box 250 D
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Derek George (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, harmonica, keyboards, programming, background vocals); B. James Lowry (acoustic guitar); James Mitchell , Troy Lancaster, Tom Bukovac, Rob McNelley (electric guitar); Mickey Raphael (harmonica); Casey Wood (accordion, keyboards, percussion); John Henry Trinko, Steve Nathan (keyboards); Lonnie Wilson (drums, percussion); Russell Terral, Kristy Lee Cook, Vanessa Campagna, Wes Hightower (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Casey Wood.
  • Recording information: OMNIsound; The Insanery, Nashville, TN; The Monostary, Nashville, TN.
  • Editors: Derek George; Casey Wood.
  • Photographers: David McClister; Glenn Sweitzer; Alicia Yantz.
  • Shifting to an independent label after two under-performing records released on Show Dog/Universal, pro songwriter turned singer Randy Houser ditches the lean, muscular modern country of 2010's They Call Me Cadillac on its 2013 sequel, How Country Feels, embracing instead the bright, bouncy songs of contemporary country-pop. Houser collaborates with hitmaking, jam-happy troubadour Zac Brown on one song and elsewhere sings a Lee Brice song, hoping that a little bit of Brice's "Hard to Love" rubs off on him. Overall, Houser doesn't bother writing as much as he did the first two times around -- he has seven credits here, which amounts to just under half the record. Much of the album doesn't sound like Brown or Brice, though. The opening one-two punch of "Runnin' Outta Moonlight" and "Growin' Younger" are dead-ringers for the cheerful, big-footed stomp of Jake Owen (the former sounds a bit like an answer song to "Bare Foot Blue Jean Night"), and Houser never misses an opportunity to aim for the bleachers, singing in broad terms about "The Power of a Song" and "How Country Feels" and then cuts big, bright tunes to support his thesis. This winds up with a slight, odd disconnect -- it's an unabashed pop album released on an indie -- but Houser has skills as a craftsman and record-maker so How Country Feels is enjoyable even when it winds up playing a bit like a Now This Is Country collection filled with songs that never hit the charts. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling How Country Feels * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top