SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

How My Heart Sings!

Album: How My Heart Sings!
# Song Title   Time
1)    How My Heart Sings
2)    I Should Care
3)    In Your Own Sweet Way - (take)
4)    Walking Up
5)    Summertime
6)    34 Skidoo
7)    Ev'rything I Love
8)    Show-Type Tune
9)    In Your Own Street Way [Take 2] - (take, alternate take)
10)    34 Skidoo [Take 9] - (previously unreleased, take, alternate take)
11)    Ev'rything I Love [Take 2] - (previously unreleased, take, alternate take)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Bill Evans Trio: Bill Evans (piano); Chuck Israels (bass); Paul Motian (drums).
  • Recorded at Sound Makers Inc, New York, New York on May 17 & 29 and June 5, 1962. Originally released on Riverside (9473). Includes liner notes by Bill Evans and Orrin Keepnews.
  • Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (1989, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
  • Personnel: Bill Evans (piano); Paul Motian (drums).
  • Audio Remasterer: Joe Tarantino.
  • Liner Note Authors: Orrin Keepnews; Bill Evans ; Doug Ramsey.
  • Recording information: Sound Makers, Inc., New York City (05/17/1962-06/05/1962).
  • A new Bill Evans Trio re-entered the studio in the spring of 1962, nearly one year after the untimely death of innovative bassist Scott LaFaro. Chuck Israels was LaFaro's replacement, and while he would never take musical charge the way LaFaro did, his supportive presence and solid sound helped make this second edition of the Trio a worthy successor. The 1962 dates produced two albums' worth of material. The previously released MOONBEAMS was lyrical yet somber, while the altogether brighter HOW MY HEART SINGS consistently swings. There is little evidence here of the depressive slump which caused Evans to take off the previous year in response to LaFaro's death.
  • Just as on MOONBEAMS, we are introduced here to new Evans originals, additions to a growing and impressive catalog, like "Walking Up" and the exhilarating "Show-Type Tune" in which the pianist puts on his best Bud Powell hat, knocking off line after line of thrillingly executed runs. Add Earl Zindar's haunting title track, then a nod to Dave Brubeck on the two takes of the latter's "In Your Own Sweet Way" and HOW MY HEART SINGS stands as the most varied Bill Evans set since his breakthrough EVERYBODY DIGS BILL EVANS.
Professional Reviews
Down Beat (9/90) - 4.5 Stars - Very Good Plus - "..cut of a rich fabric, brocaded with golden threads of melody and intriguingly cross-stitched rhythms.."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Piano
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling How My Heart Sings! on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top