Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

How To Dismantle An Atom Bomb

New or Used: 13 copies from $6.35
Album: How To Dismantle An Atom Bomb (Euro CD)
# Song Title   Time
1)    Vertigo More Info... 3:15
2)    Miracle Drug More Info... 3:59
3)    Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own More Info... 5:09
4)    Love And Peace Or Else More Info... 4:51
5)    City Of Blinding Lights More Info... 5:48
6)    All Because Of You More Info... 3:39
7)    A Man And A Woman More Info... 4:30
8)    Crumbs From Your Table More Info... 5:03
9)    One Step Closer More Info... 3:52
10)    Original Of The Species More Info... 4:41
11)    Yahweh More Info... 4:22
Product Details


1. Vertigo

2. Miracle Drug

3. Sometimes You Can'tmake It On Your Own

4. Love And Peace Or Else

5. City Ofblinding Lights

6. All Because Of You

7. A Man And A Woman

8. Crumbs From Your Table

9. One Step Closer

10. Original Of The Species

11. Yahweh

Performer Notes
  • U2: The Edge , Adam Clayton, Larry Mullen, Jr., Bono .
  • Personnel: Bono (vocals, guitar, background vocals); The Edge (guitar, piano, keyboards, synthesizer, percussion, background vocals); Daniel Lanois (mandolin, shaker); Carl Glanville (synthesizer, percussion); Jacknife Lee (synthesizer, programming); Adam Clayton (bass guitar); Larry Mullen, Jr. (drums, percussion, background vocals); Fabien Waltman (programming).
  • Audio Mixers: Chris Lillywhite; Flood ; Greg Collins ; Nellee Hooper; Simon Gogerly; Simon Osborne; Carl Glanville.
  • Recording information: HQ (11/2003-08/2004); South Of France (11/2003-08/2004).
  • Photographers: Joe Edwards; Anton Corbijn.
  • Much in the manner of their previous album, ALL THAT YOU CAN'T LEAVE BEHIND, U2 largely strips down the stadium-sized approach of years past on the provocatively titled HOW TO DISMANTLE AN ATOMIC BOMB. Whether they were inspired by the garage-rock revival that took place in between the two records, or just felt like making some visceral rock & roll, this 2004 release has as much unbridled energy as such early U2 benchmarks as BOY or WAR. The album starts with a bang, courtesy of the charging, angular "Vertigo," whose driving bass line and shouted vocals announce the band's intentions in no uncertain terms.
  • The bluesy "Love and Peace or Else," and the fuzz-guitar-fueled "All Because of You" follow suit in a similarly high-energy manner. That's not to say that this is a mere rockfest from start to finish, though. There are an equal number of reflective, mid-tempo tunes whose direct emotional impact recalls the more elegiac tracks on OCTOBER, giving the whole album a dynamic depth of field. Whether rocking like madmen or getting in touch with their inner selves, though, the band sounds totally committed throughout ATOMIC BOMB, which has always been the first requirement for a great U2 album.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.172) - 4 stars out of 5 - "This is grandiose music from grandiose men, sweatlessly confident in the execution of their duties."

Rolling Stone (pp.152-3) - Included in Rolling Stone's Top 50 Records Of 2004 - "U2 soar to adult glory with a guitar-driven vigor that hearkens back to 1980's BOY..."

Spin (p.64) - Ranked #29 in Spin's "40 Best Albums of the Year" - "An '80s rock band making a great 11th album."

Entertainment Weekly (pp.115-16) - "'Crumbs From Your Table' is the type of glorious gallop this band can write in its pub nap, but no one does it better." - Grade: B

Uncut (p.136) - "[I]t's their most unabashedly strident record since THE UNFORGETTABLE FIRE....Though the band rattle and strum with their old '80s vigour, the lines that stay with you speak of a creeping malaise."

Uncut (p.76) - Ranked #35 in Uncut's "Best New Albums of 2004" - "[A] brilliantly expansive album and their best since ACHTUNG BABY."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.60) - Ranked #17 in Mojo's "The 50 Best Albums Of 2005" - "HTDAAB harmonised post-punk U2 and the modern, humanistic concerns of Bono Inc..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.96) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[T]hey continue to pioneer a new future for rock music....What is clear is that there's a new maturity to Bono's lyrics."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling How To Dismantle An Atom Bomb (Euro CD) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top