Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
How The West Was Won (3CD)

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Hard Rock & Metal » Hard Rock

How The West Was Won [3 Discs]

Artist: Led Zeppelin (Recorded By)

Elsewhere $44.99 $29.95   Save $15.04 (33%)
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from UK
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Atlantic (Label)
Album: How The West Was Won
# Song Title   Time
1)    L.A. Drone
2)    Immigrant Song
3)    Heartbreaker
4)    Black Dog
5)    Over the Hills and Far Away
6)    Since I've Been Loving You
7)    Stairway to Heaven
8)    Going to California
9)    That's the Way
10)    Bron-Y-Aur Stomp
1)    Dazed and Confused/Walter's Walk/The Crunge
2)    What Is and What Should Never Be
3)    Dancing Days
4)    Moby Dick
1)    Whole Lotta Love/Boogie Chillun/Let's Have a Party/Hello Marylou/Going
2)    Rock and Roll
3)    Ocean, The
4)    Bring It on Home/Bring It on Back

Performer Notes
  • Led Zeppelin: Robert Plant (vocals); Jimmy Page (guitar); John Paul Jones (keyboards, bass); John Bonham (drums).
  • Recorded at Los Angeles Forum, Los Angeles, California and Long Beach Area, Long Beach, California on June 25 & 27, 1972.
  • Personnel: Robert Plant (vocals, harmonica); Jimmy Page (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); John Paul Jones (mandolin, keyboards, bass guitar); John Bonham (drums, percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: Kevin Shirley.
  • Recording information: LA Forum (06/25/1972/06/27/1972); Long Beach Arena (06/25/1972/06/27/1972); Sarm West Studios, London, England (06/25/1972/06/27/1972).
  • Photographers: Jeffrey Mayer; Michael Putland; Jim Cummins; James Fortune.
  • In the course of putting together the live Led Zeppelin DVD for 2003 release, Jimmy Page came across some great concert recordings from the band's 1972 stint in California. HOW THE WEST WAS WON is three discs' worth of vintage Zep, far superior to the band's only other live album THE SONG REMAINS THE SAME. Here is the fearsome foursome in all their glory and fury, coming off like crazed rock & roll Vikings on the opening "Immigrant Song," reinventing the blues form on "Heartbreaker," and just plain rocking the doors off the joint on "Rock and Roll" and "Black Dog."
  • This being 1972, the band had made its journey into the folk-rock realm as well, and come out with the touching "Going to California" and "That's the Way," the earthy "Bron-Yr-Aur Stomp," and the minstrel-in-the-hills fancy of "Over the Hills and Far Away," all of which are given strong voice here. A 25-minute "Dazed and Confused" and epic-length drum solo on the John Bonham feature "Moby Dick" show that Zep was unafraid to venture into anything they damn well pleased, but the bluesy grit and primal hard-rock crunch of their feel throughout this collection reveals the pure visceral magic of which these '70s icons were capable.

Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (12/25/03, p.112) - Included in Rolling Stone's "Top 10 Reissues of 2003"

Rolling Stone (6/12/03, p.96) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Captures Zep in prime swagger, fresh off their masterpiece, LED ZEPPELIN IV, with HOUSES OF THE HOLY just around the corner..."

Entertainment Weekly (6/20/03, pp.70-1) - "...The band storms out, playing music that is both of its time and timeless, as accessible and unapproachable as when it was made..." - Rating: A+

Q (01/01/04, p.77) - Included in Q's "Best Re-releases of 2003" - "[Y]ou couldn't expect any band to play any more, any better....[A] thrilling document of a continent being sonically trampled underfoot."

Producer:Jimmy Page
Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Live
Release Date:26 May, 2003


1. LA Drone

2. Immigrant Song

3. Heartbreaker

4. Black Dog

5. Over The Hills And Far Away

6. Since I've Been Loving You

7. Stairway To Heaven

8. Going To California

9. That's The Way

10. Born-Yr-Aur Stomp

11. Dazed And Confused

12. What Is And What Should Never Be

13. Dancing Days

14. Moby Dick

15. Whole Lotta Love

16. Rock And Roll

17. The Ocean

18. Bring It On Home

Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

1 review(s)
All Reviews
Brion on
This collection shows Led Zeppelin at their peak live. It showcases a fantastic array of songs. Disc one is for the fans of the singles, whilst disc two and three are for the die hard fans. While I thought the extremely extended long versions of “Dazed and Confused” and “Whole Lot of Love” would be awesome, I was slightly disappointed. It takes some serious dedication to listen to them in their entirety. They are however superb when give the chance (And I bet even better visually (This is why I recommend the DVD over this)). This is sensational, but I can’t help wonder if it should have been cut ever so slightly to fit onto two discs (It can nearly fit as it is). Page shows he is as eccentric and self indulgent as ever whilst putting this collection together and really that’s what we love about him.

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling How The West Was Won on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.