Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Hunter

Mastodon have never really done anything the “conventional” way. The Atlanta-based band formulated their own brand of highly-skilled hard rock over a decade ago when others were rehashing 80s metal, and went on to mastermind a string of complex concept albums.

The Hunter is yet another universe bending, high energy masterpiece from the band that helped shape hard rock for the 21st century with their previous albums: Remission, Leviathan, Blood Mountain and Crack the Skye. Though each consecutive album has transcended the one before it in terms of expectations, musical innovation and sales, The Hunter is the band’s most ambitious to date. Mastodon continue to explore the outer limits of their own imaginations and as a result, deliver an album that stands apart -- even in Mastodon terms.

The album is full of surprises—from melodic, close harmonies to downright demonic growls—but predictably, the musicianship is leagues beyond what anyone would expect to find on such a hard-hitting album. The Hunter is also the band’s most emotionally charged record to date. Tragically, Brent Hinds’ brother died of a heart attack in 2010 while on a hunting trip. And so the band dedicated the album to Hinds’ brother, an avid hunter.

Continuing their tradition of breaking tradition, Mastodon decided to team up with Mike Elizondo (50 Cent, Eminem), a highly respected producer more synonymous with hip hop than metal. And again, Mastodons penchant for taking risks has paid off.


1. Black Tongue
2. Curl Of The Burl
3. Blasteroid
4. Stargasm
5. Octopus Has No Friend
6. All The Heavy Lifting
7. The Hunter
8. Thickening
9. Creature Lives
10. Spectrelight
11. Bedazzled Fingernails
12. The Sparrow

Product Details
Performer Notes
  • After the spacy triumph that was Crack the Skye, Mastodon are returning to their sludgier, more riff-oriented roots on their fifth studio album, The Hunter. Shying away from the far-out prog of their last album, this album should deliver a dose of the raw, driving power that made Leviathan a modern metal classic.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.68) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "THE HUNTER demonstrates how contemporary radio rock can still be made with imagination, precision and a majestic sense of force."

Rolling Stone (p.72) - Ranked #38 in Rolling Stone's '50 Best Albums Of 2011' -- "[A] killer rock-radio record."

Spin (p.73) - "Songs like 'Curl of the Burl,' the galloping 'Specterlight,' and the kinetic, catchy 'Blasteroid' keep the riffs simple without lapsing into banality."

Entertainment Weekly (p.74) - "[The] hybrids mutate awesomely, creating one burly, beastly adrenaline spike." -- Grade: A-

Alternative Press (p.125) - 4.5 stars out of 5 -- "Execution matches ambition in the beautiful 'Creature Lives,' which adds a new dimension to the band's classic rock side..."
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Hunter on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top