SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Hymns and Sacred Songs

Album: Hymns and Sacred Songs
# Song Title   Time
1)    Savior, Like a Shepherd Lead Us (Blessed Jesus)
2)    Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing
3)    Isaiah 55 (Nothing You Can't Do)
4)    O Heart Bereaved and Lonely
5)    Power of the Cross, The
6)    Give Myself to You
7)    Come, Ye Thankful People, Come
8)    Blessed Redeemer
9)    Out of My Bondage
10)    Song of Moses
11)    Praise the Lord Who Reigns Above
12)    Be Still My Soul
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Leigh Nash (background vocals); Stu G, Stephen Leiweke (guitar); Matt Stanfield (keyboards); Paul Mabury (drums).
  • Audio Mixers: Derri Daugherty; Shane Wilson.
  • Photographer: Andrea Behrends.
  • Recorded while waiting for the re-formed Sixpence None the Richer to drop their new album, frontwoman Leigh Nash's first full-length solo record since 2006's Blue on Blue revisits her Southern Baptist church roots on brand-new interpretations of 12 hymns, both classic and contemporary. Accompanied by an impressive array of musicians including Hillsong drummer Paul Mabury and Delirious? Guitarist Stu G, the faithful renditions of modern worship songs including Aaron Keyes' "Song of Moses," Katie Gustafson's "Isaiah 55 (Nothing You Can't Do)," and Keith & Kristyn Getty's "The Power of the Cross" would undoubtedly neatly fit into her band's repertoire. But it's the eight radical reworkings of hymns from classic writers such as Charles Wesley ("Praise the Lord Who Reigns Above"), Fanny Crosby ("Blessed Redeemer"), and Robert Robinson ("Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing") where Nash's delicate and ethereal Harriet Wheeler-esque tones are at their most effective, as she breathes new life into songs centuries old with apparent ease. While the new interpretations render many of the hymns unrecognizable, producer John Hartley's tasteful arrangements still manage to treat the archaic source material with respect, allowing the message of the songs to take center stage, but surrounding them with warm layers of acoustic guitars, gentle piano chords, and brush-stroke rhythms, as evident on the banjo-plucking bluegrass of "Savior, Like a Shepherd Lead Us (Blessed Jesus)," the melancholic alt-country of "O Heart Bereaved and Lonely," and the powerful military-style retooling of "Come, Ye Thankful People, Come." A charming precursor to her band's eagerly awaited comeback, Hymns & Sacred Songs is a refreshingly understated back-to-basics affair that is capable of translating outside of the Christian rock audience. ~ Jon O'Brien
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Hymns and Sacred Songs on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top