SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

I Am Shelby Lynne

Album: I Am Shelby Lynne
# Song Title   Time
1)    Your Lies Album Version More Info... 2:54
2)    Leavin' Album Version More Info... 3:13
3)    Life Is Bad Album Version More Info... 3:18
4)    Thought It Would Be Easier Album Version More Info... 3:55
5)    Gotta Get Back Album Version More Info... 3:38
6)    Why Can't You Be? Album Version More Info... 4:19
7)    Lookin' Up Album Version More Info... 3:28
8)    Dreamsome Album Version More Info... 4:13
9)    Where I'm From Album Version More Info... 3:49
10)    Black Light Blue Album Version More Info... 3:26
Product Details


1. Your Lies

2. Leavin'

3. Life Is Bad

4. Thought It Would Be Easier

5. Gotta Get Back

6. Why Can't You Be?

7. Lookin' Up

8. Dreamsome

9. Where I'm From

10. Black Light Blue

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Shelby Lynne (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars); Bill Bottrell (electric, 12-string & pedal steel guitars, harmonica, organ, keyboards, bass, drums, percussion); Roger Fritz (guitar, dobro, slide mandolin); Jay Joyce (guitar, organ, keyboards, bass); Greg D'Augelli (flute, horns, acoustic bass); Bill Coulson (horns); Dorothy Overstreet (drums); The Memphis Strings.
  • Shelby Lynne won the 2001 Grammy Award for Best New Artist.
  • Personnel: Shelby Lynne (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, background vocals); Bill Bottrell (vocals, guitar, 12-string guitar, harmonica, organ, keyboards, drums, snare drum, percussion, background vocals); Roger Fritz (guitar, slide guitar, dobro); Jay Joyce (guitar, organ, keyboards); Greg d'Augenlli (flute, horns, keyboards); Dorothy Overstreet (drums, snare drum).
  • Audio Mixers: Mark Cross ; Bill Bottrell.
  • Recording information: Camp House, Fowl River, AL; Firehouse, Mobile, AL; House Of Blues S; The Old Schoolhouse, North Coas; William's Place Studio, Caspar.
  • Photographer: Rankin .
  • Arranger: George Del Barrio.
  • I AM SHELBY LYNNE is a genre-blending affair marked by lustrous production and surprisingly mature songwriting. Lynne dips into soul, R&B, folk, and rock to forge a collection of radio-ready tracks that pay tribute to many of the great female singers who inspired her.
  • "Your Lies" approaches Spectorian pop grandeur filtered through a '90s sensibility. On "Leavin'," the singer attempts to revisit the warmth of Aretha Franklin-like vintage soul. "Life Is Bad" may please fans of Sheryl Crow and Lucinda Williams. "Why Can't You Be" almost sounds like a tribute to Williams, expect for the blaring horns that bring the track to unexpected corners. The lightly hypnotic "Lookin' Up" calls upon strings, flute, synthesizers, and a slightly Stereolab-like intro for eminently palatable results. "Where I'm From" is an honest and straightforward tribute to the singer's Alabama home. And on "Black Light Blue," Lynne sounds like a world-weary chanteuse, working a smoky room in Southern Texas. Fans of radio-friendly female singer/songwriters will want to pounce on I AM SHELBY LYNNE.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (1/4/01, p.113) - Included in Rolling Stone's "Top 50 Albums of 2000".

Rolling Stone (2/17/00, p.52) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...a true original, synthesizing various, mostly Southern musical strains into a style that is one-of-a-kind....a genuine evocation of album that lives up to [the] billing...the best voice in country music...and then some."

Spin (1/01, p.73) - Ranked #15 in Spin's "Top 20 Albums of the Year [2000]".

Spin (2/00, pp.107-8) - 9 out of 10 - "...her great leap forward....Lynne embraces the soul-stoked song-symphony patented by the late Dusty Springfield....firing up the low-watt string illuminations [and] choreographing their own slow dances for dimply lit nouveau honky-tonks..."

Entertainment Weekly (1/28/00, p.106) - "...Lynne returns with a set of orchestral outings, bluesy ballads, and silky, head-spinning dance music that catches her midway between pop and soul..." - Rating: B

CMJ (1/08/01, p.16) - Included in CMJ's "Best of the Year" for 2000.

CMJ (2/00, p.62) - "...brings a distinctive voice and great songwriting to [her] sixth release of her elliptical, hard luck journey....a stylistically diverse set that taps Curtis Mayfield's layered soul here and a Beatles-esque use of strings and horns there..."

No Depression (3-4/00, p.116) - "...Drawing on all of her influences, from country to pop to jazz to southern soul, Lynne has created something that is all hers, superior in both scope and execution to the fine debut of her sister, Allison Moorer."

Mojo (Publisher) (1/00, p.31) - Ranked #14 in Mojo Magazine's "Best of 1999" - "...[Her] huge, melodious voice, stirring songs and fab settings make [this] album one to cherish....Steeped in roots but utterly contemporary."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling I Am Shelby Lynne on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top