SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

I, Flathead [Deluxe Edition]

New or Used: $25.00
Album: I, Flathead [Deluxe Edition]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Drive Like I Never Been Hurt
2)    Waitin' For Some Girl
3)    Johnny Cash
4)    Can I Smoke In Here?
5)    Steel Guitar Heaven
6)    Ridin' With the Blues
7)    Pink-O-Boogie
8)    Fernando Sez
9)    Spayed Kooley
10)    Filipino Dance Hall Girl
11)    My Dwarf is Getting Tired
12)    Flathead One More Time
13)    5000 Country Music Songs
14)    Little Trona Girl
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Ry Cooder (vocals, guitar); Juliette Commagere (vocals); Flaco Jim‚nez (accordion); Gil Bernal (tenor saxophone); Jon Hassell (trumpet); Martin Pradler (electric piano, drums); Jared Nelson Smith (keyboards); Rene Camacho (electric bass); Jim Keltner, Joachim Cooder (drums).
  • Guitarist/singer Ry Cooder is one of the original Americana/roots-rockers, and has been exploring the nooks and crannies of American music since the 1960s. I, FLATHEAD finds Cooder delving into blues, country, jazz, Western swing, and more. On some tracks, Cooder pays specific tribute to his musical heroes, name-checking pedal steel guitar legend Speedy West on "Steel Guitar Heaven," and serving up tunes named for Johnny Cash and Western swing sultan Spade Cooley. However traditional the setting, though, Cooder's raw, Captain Beefheart-like voice (he appeared on the Captain's first LP, SAFE AS MILK) keeps things agreeably quirky throughout the album.
Professional Reviews
Dirty Linen (p.86) - "A guest appearance by Mexican accordionist Flaco Jimenez on 'Filipino Dance Hall Girl' adds to the CD's Tex-Mex sound."

Q (Magazine) (p.135) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[An] affectionate, note-perfect foray into a bygone musical world, this time involving western swing, mariachi brass and hillbilly boogie."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.110) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The overall sound is fittingly basic and features, the odd mariachi or Pacific island diversion aside, Cooder on guitar, steel guitar, bass and mandolin."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling I, Flathead [Deluxe Edition] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top