Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

I Phantom [Digipak]

Album: I Phantom [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Bad Card
2)    Glimpse at the Struggle, A
3)    Return of the B-Boy
4)    Live From the Plantation
5)    New Man (Theme)
6)    Handouts
7)    Status - (featuring Insight)
8)    Success - (featuring Aesop Rock)
9)    Daddy Dearest
10)    Now, The
11)    Friends and Neighbors
12)    Iron Helix - (featuring Insight)
13)    Earthcrusher
14)    Post Mortem - (featuring El-P/Jean Grae/Akrobatik)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Mr. Lif, El-P, Aesop Rock, Jean Grae, Insight, Akrobatik.
  • Liner Note Author: Mr. Lif.
  • Recording information: Boston Butta Beats; Def Jux Studios; Steel Acres; The Danger Room.
  • Mr. Lif, the hardworking Bostonian MC, drops a debut LP that playfully discloses in lyrical fashion his inner battle of whether or not to return to his nine-to-five job, but the long-overdue record practically guarantees he'll no longer need the day job. One of the working-class heroes signed to hip-hop indie Definitive Jux, Liffy enjoyed a busy 2002, releasing the Emergency Rations EP and appearing on several releases from the Jux camp. I Phantom is slightly less politically aggressive than the EP in overall aesthetic, with blue-collar rhymes over hype, funky tracks with great production by Fakts One, DJ Hype, Edan, and Lif himself. The guest appearances on the mic by Akrobatik, a fellow fledgling Bostonion, Edan, Aesop Rock, El-P, and Jean Grae make all the tracks quality and seal the deal on Lif's breakthrough set. ~ Nic Kincaid
Professional Reviews
Uncut (10/02, p.110) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Lif's genius is a album of flashing wit and giddy ambition."

The Wire (09/02, p.52) - "...I PHANTOM could prove to be one of the most consistently rewarding HipHop records to land in 2002..."

Vibe (10/02, p.184) - 4 out of 5 - "...With raw, cyber-crunk production....Sly, studious, and battle-ready..."

NME (Magazine) (9/14/02, p.40) - 7 out of 10 - "...The sound of hip-hop fishing for cents in the gutter....this is vengeance made eloquent..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » Acid Jazz
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling I Phantom [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top