SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

I Wish I Didn't Dream [Digipak]

Hurry - Only 4 left in stock!
Album: I Wish I Didn't Dream [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    My Skin Is a Membrane
2)    Belle Dame Sans Merci, La
3)    Come with Me
4)    [Untitled]
5)    Come On, Come On
6)    Shenandoah
7)    Just Find Your Shoes
8)    I Wish I Didn't Dream
9)    I Didn't Know
10)    Gotta Work
11)    Still Bound
12)    It Will Only Continue
13)    Cease to Do Evil
14)    Keep Breathing
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Loren Connors (guitar); Suzanne Langille (vocals).
  • Liner Note Author: Suzanne Langille.
  • Recording information: Seizures Palace.
  • When Loren Connors released Red Mars in the fall of 2011, it marked his first studio recording of new material in seven years. I Wish I Didn't Dream, on Northern Spy, marks his first collaboration with life partner, vocalist, and writer Suzanne Langille in 14 years. These duets were recorded live in a studio in just a few hours, but their roots go back to 1997 when Langille and Connors were playing in a band called Haunted House with Neel Murgai and Andrew Burnes. (Haunted House's 1998 Blue Ghost Blues was issued by Northern Spy in 2011.) That recording was produced by radio producer and writer Kurt Gottschalk. Further, the band's gigs were often "illustrated" with slides of artist M P Landis' work shown in the backdrop (his art adorns the cover of Blue Ghost Blues). Gottschalk was writing the text for a forthcoming book of Landis' artwork when the pair decided it needed a soundtrack. I Wish I Didn't Dream is it. Recorded in the same studio as Blue Ghost Blues, this album was improvised on the spot. Connors' guitar work is skeletal, haunting, and spatial, alternately placid and menacing. Langille's voice, sung or spoken, articulates these texts -- folk songs, her own works, or poems by 19th century Irish poet Denis Florence McCarthy and John Keats -- with a sure-footedness of expression that offers Connors a sense of direction which he maximizes, with his requisite sense of space, texture, signature technique, and sonic nuance. Each piece has a corresponding artwork in the booklet and is so numbered and titled. "My Skin Is a Membrane [wd4825]" is brief; it begins languidly yet creates a sudden, deliberate tension that implies catharsis yet ends before it transpires. Langille begins "Just Find Your Shoes [wd4572]" as a song with an abstract text. It eventually collides with Connors' dissonance, creating drama until release is achieved. Langille's title track, "It Will Only Continue," and McCarthy's "Cease to Do Evil" create a frightening intensity full of emotion so pure, it erases the seams between dread, desire, loss, spirituality, and acceptance. While recorded to accompany Landis' artworks, the 14 pieces on I Wish I Didn't Dream are a confident, revelatory testament that articulates the beauty and power that lies between and beyond all disciplines. The welcome return of Langille and Connors together achieves via sound, that which is unrepeatable in its creativity and unspeakable in its depth. ~ Thom Jurek
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling I Wish I Didn't Dream [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top