Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Ice Cream for Crow [Bonus Track]

Album: Ice Cream for Crow [Bonus Track]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Ice Cream for Crow
2)    Host the Ghost the Most Holy-O, The
3)    Semi-Multicoloured Caucasian
4)    Hey Garland, I Dig Your Tweed Coat
5)    Evening Bell
6)    Cardboard Cutout Sundown
7)    Past Sure Is Tense, The
8)    Ink Mathematics
9)    Witch Doctor Life, The
10)    "81" Poop Hatch
11)    Thousandth and Tenth Day of the Human Totem Pole, The
12)    Skeleton Makes Good
13)    Light Reflected off the Oceans of the Moon - (bonus track)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Don "Captain Beefheart" Van Vliet (vocals, harmonica, soprano saxophone, prop horn); Jeff Moris Tepper, Gary Lucas (acoustic & electric guitars, slide guitars); Richard Midnight Hatsize Snyder (viola, marimba, bass); Eric Drew Feldman (synthesizer); Cliff R. Martinez (drums, percussion).
  • Recorded at Warner Brothers Recording Studios, North Hollywood, California.
  • Captain Beefheart/Captain Beefheart & the Magic Band: Jeff Moris Tepper (acoustic guitar, slide guitar, steel guitar); Gary Lucas (slide guitar, National guitar); Hatsize Snyder (marimba, bass guitar, background vocals); Cliff Martinez (drums, washboard, percussion); Don Van Vliet (Chinese gong); Eric Drew Feldman.
  • Personnel: Don Van Vliet (vocals, harmonica, soprano saxophone, horns, gong); Gary Lucas , Jeff Moris Tepper (guitar); Eric Drew Feldman (Fender Rhodes piano, bass synthesizer).
  • Liner Note Author: Mike Barnes .
  • After returning to active touring in 1980 on the heels of DOC AT THE RADAR STATION, Captain Beefheart recorded this final album with the last incarnation of The Magic Band. In part constructed from pieces which weren't recorded for its predecessor, as well as numbers which had origins dating back ten years, ICE CREAM FOR CROW is a strong work. It benefits from the seemingly easy interplay of the band members--no small feat given the intricately interlocking rhythms which are a prime feature of The Magic Band's sound in every version ever assembled.
  • The world-weary photo of Captain Beefheart (Don Van Vliet) which adorns the cover accurately reflects the mood that pervades most of the songs. It comes as no surprise that immediately following the release of this album he retreated to the embrace of nature and the desert, where he focused his energies solely on painting, permanently abandoning composition and performance.
Professional Reviews
Uncut (p.78) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[W]ith the title track's woozy boogie and 'The Past Sure Is Tense' displaying a pleasantly lolloping industry."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Ice Cream for Crow [Bonus Track] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top