Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: Iconoclast
# Song Title   Time
1)    Iconoclast
2)    End of Innocence, The
3)    Dehumanized
4)    Bastards of the Machine
5)    Heretic
6)    Children of a Faceless God
7)    Electric Messiah
8)    Prometheus (I Am Alive)
9)    When All is Lost
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Russell Allen (vocals); Michael Romeo (guitar); Michael Pinnella (keyboards); Jason Rullo (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Jens Bogren.
  • Recording information: The Dungeon.
  • Illustrator: Warren Flanagan.
  • Symphony X's eighth studio opus (and first for Nuclear Blast), 2011's Iconoclast, sees the New Jersey progressive metal veterans exploring the potential dangers of technological overkill over the same, prog-power-symphonic metal foundation that's served them well for two decades. Why mess with a winning formula, right? And so, the album's 1-minute title track pulls no major sonic surprises, yet still sets the album's sophisticated tone, thanks to the lush orchestrations and choirs draped across the band's traditionally metallic attack. Some might say it comes across like Queensr?che's "Suite Sister Mary" on steroids, but it also represents the most overblown qualities to be found here, along with subsequent epics like the "Children of a Faceless God" and the disconsolate "When All Is Lost." A series of more compact tracks are included as well, but they obviously lack nothing in the way of instrumental complexities; nor do they drop the ball in terms of advancing the album's story line, as evidenced by the likes of "Dehumanized" and "Electric Messiah." Among these, power metal-infused numbers like "The End of Innocence" and "Bastards of the Machine" prove especially catchy, in spite of the consistent tornado of notes spun between guitarist Michael Romeo and keyboardist Michael Pinnella, not to mention the percussive barrage churned up by drummer Jason Rullo. Amid all this controlled mayhem, bassist Mike LePond acquits himself well for someone who basically has to hold down the low end while playing third fiddle in the band's own "Mike" hierarchy; but kudos must go as always to vocalist Russell Allen, whose tuneful gruffness and superior emoting always stands out from prog metal's commonly regimented, squeaky-clean, and often piercing singing stereotypes. On a confusing note: Iconoclast's two-disc deluxe edition contains an additional three tracks that actually flesh out the story properly, thus pretty much damaging the incomplete standard CD version, so self-professed super-fans take heed. In every other sense, though, this album finds Symphony X in top fighting form, adding another memorable chapter to their impressive and ever expanding legacy. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Iconoclast on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top