Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Into the Labyrinth

Album: Into the Labyrinth
# Song Title   Time
1)    Yulunga (Spirit Dance)
2)    Ubiquitous Mr. Lovegrove, The
3)    Wind That Shakes the Barley, The
4)    Carnival Is Over, The
5)    Ariadne
6)    Saldek
7)    Towards the Within
8)    Tell Me About the Forest
9)    Spider's Stratagem, The
10)    Emmeleia
11)    How Fortunate the Man with None
12)    Bird
13)    Spirit
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Dead Can Dance: Lisa Gerrardo, Brendan Perry.
  • INTO THE LABYRINTH is either the sixth or seventh Dead Can Dance album, depending upon whether you could the live one or not. It also marks a step back from that live album--there are no flirtations with traditional pop song structures as in tracks like "American Dreaming" and "Don't Fade Away." Instead, DCD has further widened its palate to include more tribal and spiritual pieces (see "Saldek" and "Toward the Within"). The album also contains covers of two relatively recent songs (considering that the band usually favors the 14th and 16th centuries), "The Wind That Shakes the Barley," an Irish protest song written in the mid-1800s and "How Fortunate the Man With None," which was adapted from a piece by 20th-century playwright Bertold Brecht. Standouts from this collection include Lisa Gerrard's majestic vocal turn on "Yulunga (Spirit Dance)," the lush music of "Tell Me About the Forest (You Called Home)," and "The Spider's Stratagem," an oddly lullaby-like track featuring bongos and Lisa Gerrard's voice at its most soothing. INTO THE LABYRINTH is a much more sedate record than Dead Can Dance's previous ones; a record perfectly suited to long, dark afternoons.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (10/15/93, p.76) - "...[Dead Can Dance] return with atmospheric, gothic tracks positively untethered to this earth..." - Rating: A-

Q (11/93, p.116) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...Dead Can Dance have patched together a bright, homemade musical quilt that defies the world to call it pretentious....yet for all its strangeness, [INTO THE LABYRINTH] is surprisingly functional..."

Melody Maker (9/18/93, p.40) - "...Lisa Gerrard's voice is breathtaking.... Dead Can Dance are more in tune with the spirit of the times than they've ever been before..."

NME (Magazine) (9/11/93, p.37) - "...INTO THE LABYRINTH is an ambitious, astoundingly serious double-album, fusing global folk-music with a more focused, gloomy English pop...Dead Can Dance are, ultimately masters of their own sound..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Into the Labyrinth on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top