Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Introducing the Hardline According to Terence Trent d'Arby

New or Used: $13.50
Album: Introducing the Hardline According to Terence Trent d'Arby
# Song Title   Time
1)    If You All Get To Heaven
2)    If You Let Me Stay
3)    Wishing Well [Album Version]
4)    I'll Never Turn My Back On You (Father's Words)
5)    Dance Little Sister [Album Version]
6)    Seven More Days
7)    Let's Go Forward [Album Version]
8)    Rain
9)    Sign Your Name
10)    As Yet Untitled
11)    Who's Loving You
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Terence Trent D'Arby (vocals, baritone saxophone, piano, Clavinet, keyboards, drums, percussion); Christian Marsac (guitar, saxophone); Pete Glenister, "Blast" Murray, Tim Cansfield (guitar); Mel Collins (saxophone); Nick Plytas, Andy Whitmore (keyboards); Cass Lewis, Sean Oliver, Phil Spalding (bass); Preston Heyman (drums, percussion); Clive Mngaza, Bruce Smith (drums); Frank Ricotti (percussion); Ivar Ybrad (sinbula); Tony Jackson, Lance Ellington, Phil Legg, Michelle Oldland, Martyn Ware, Glenn Gregory (background vocals).
  • Producers: Martyn Ware, Terence Trent D'Arby, Howard Grey.
  • One of the most original recording artists of the '80s, Terence Trent D'Arby released a brilliantly executed album with INTRODUCING THE HARDLINE.
  • Combining the best of rock, pop and contemporary urban R&B, Terence's vocals can be smooth like the sweet soul singers of the '60s, funky like Prince, or as impassioned as the most sizzling rocker. "Dance Little Sister" recalls James Brown, "Who's Lovin' You" sounds like a Sam Cooke song, while many of the other tracks show a Stevie Wonder influence.
  • The album is completely Terence--he played many of the instruments, co-produced most tracks, and wrote just about all of the songs. His vocals alternate from the slickly pop and fierce falsetto, to rough-edged soul. "If You All Get To Heaven," a Prince-like hybrid, showcases a sharp sense of production, vocalizing, and song-craft. "If You Let Me Stay" is funk and pop, drenched not in horns but in Terence's determined vocal. "Rain" is an amalgam of so many styles that it leaves one's head spinning. "Sign Your Name" is a killer track in a Sade groove. "As Yet Untitled" is a vigorous acapella spiritual. "Wishing Well," a #1 international hit, is freshly innovative, with fascinating lyrics and hooky, percussive instrumentation. It's a song that gets its claws into the listener and doesn't let go. All tracks are uniquely rendered, with roots and influences highly apparent; yet the production is so modern that it becomes a distinctive sound on its own.
Professional Reviews
Q (8/95, p.138) - 3 Stars - Good - "'s worth it for the hits alone."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Introducing the Hardline According to Terence Trent d'Arby on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top