SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Island of Anywhere *

Album: Island of Anywhere *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Beyond the Mountains
2)    Flowers of Penberi
3)    Big Sky
4)    Branches and Stars
5)    In That Moment
6)    Waves on the Shore
7)    Never Far from You
8)    Top of the World
9)    Stray Birds
10)    Island of Anywhere
11)    Summer's Here
12)    Kayak Trip
13)    This Life
14)    Sorry for What I Said
15)    Sunset
16)    Pale Blue Dot
17)    Days Gone By
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Mike Howe (guitar, keyboards, percussion).
  • Photographer: Claire Deacon.
  • Arranger: Mike Howe .
  • If fans of Mike Howe's sweetly melodic, lilting, and rhythmic acoustic guitar meditations knew only one element of his background -- that of an ecologist in a Welsh national park, dedicated to preserving wildlife -- they might be able to pigeonhole him as a simple and classic new age artist. His inclusion on two Real Music Sacred Spa compilations would fit him in this mold as well. But the Liverpool-born composer/musician draws from a well of influences that runs deeper -- touching on the rock music he grew up with (Peter Gabriel, Queen, the Police) and a rich appreciation for jazz greats like Pat Metheny and Jan Garbarek. While his vibe for much of the disc consists of lush and graceful ballads designed for relaxation (the "Fields of Gold"-like opener "Beyond the Mountains," the caressing "Big Sky," and the hypnotic, folk-tinged "In That Moment"), Howe shows occasional flashes of those pop/rock instincts on jazzier, rolling tunes like "Summer's Here" (enhanced by synth horns and sweeping ambience) and "Sunset," whose acoustic strum backs a crisp electric guitar melody. As beautiful as the spa-ready ballads are, and as peaceful as he makes a visit to this magical island, these few hints at a richer stylistic palette inspire hope that Howe will continue to explore the depths of his background beyond healing and new age boundaries. ~ Jonathan Widran
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » New Age » General
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top