Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

I've Got a Feelin'

Album: I've Got a Feelin': OKeh & Savoy Recordings 1952-1956 *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Gabbin' Blues (Don't Run My Business)
2)    Rain Down Rain
3)    Way Back Home
4)    Just Want Your Love
5)    Jinny Mule
6)    Send For Me
7)    My Country Man
8)    Maybelle's Blues
9)    I've Got A Feelin'
10)    You'll Never Know
11)    I'm Gettin' 'Long Alright
12)    My Big Mistake
13)    Don't Leave Poor Me
14)    Ain't No Use
15)    Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On
16)    One Monkey Don't Stop No Show
17)    Other Night, The
18)    Such A Cutie
19)    New Kind Of Mambo
20)    So Good To My Baby
21)    Candy
22)    That's A Pretty Good Love
23)    Mean To Me
24)    Tell Me Who
25)    Ring Dang Dilly
26)    Pitiful
27)    I Don't Want To Cry
28)    Ring Dang Dilly/Candy - (live, Live)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Jimmy Cannady, Mickey Baker (guitar); Paul Ricci, Jerome Richardson (alto saxophone); Freddie Mitchell, Maurice Simon, Sam "The Man" Taylor , Big Al Sears, Budd Johnson, Buddy Lucas (tenor saxophone); Haywood Henry, Leslie Johnakins (baritone saxophone); Joe Wilder, Taft Jordan (trumpet); Alfred Cobbs, Eli Robinson, Billy Byers (trombone); Fletcher Smith, Kelly Owens, Ernie Hayes (piano); Solomon Hall, Marty Wilson, Jimmy Crawford , Panama Francis, Herb Lovelle, Charlie Smith (drums).
  • Recording information: New York, NY (10/08/1952-??/??/1956).
  • This CD is just what its subtitle says it is, gathering 27 tracks Big Maybelle released on the OKeh and Savoy labels between 1952 and 1956, as well as a live version of "Ring Dang Dilly/Candy" (though it's not specified whether that's previously unreleased). Big Maybelle recorded for other companies before and after 1952-1956, but this period was her artistic and commercial prime, and included the R&B hits "Gabbin' Blues," "Way Back Home," "My Country Man," and "Candy." All of those cuts are included on this well-annotated anthology, along with a non-charting 45 that nonetheless remains her most famous recording, the original version of "Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On" (later covered for a monster smash by Jerry Lee Lewis). Not every song on this disc is as good as the aforementioned titles, but Big Maybelle's raunchy, powerfully throaty vocals are consistently impressive on material that runs from jump blues shouters and earthy ballads to near- rock & roll. While "Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On" is an inevitable standout considering it's by far the most famous tune, it's quite different from Jerry Lee Lewis' rockabilly treatment; it's a much more measured mid-tempo R&B/blues hybrid in this incarnation, and it really took Lewis to kick it into much higher gear. Far less celebrated, yet far more impressive, is "I've Got a Feelin'," a great, devious minor-key number that's the set's unheralded highlight, though the playful "One Monkey Don't Stop No Show" is almost as good. Much like her version of "Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On," Big Maybelle's somewhat forgotten today, but on the basis of these sides, she certainly deserves more recognition. For she's as good as quite a few other similar figures from the dawn of rock & roll who have, whether because they had a few more hits or for other reasons, attained higher profiles as innovators among rock and R&B historians. While much of this material also appeared on the 1994 compilation The Complete OKeh Sessions 1952-55, this CD might get the slight nod as the preferable choice, as the seven Savoy tracks include a hit ("Candy") postdating the OKeh era. ~ Richie Unterberger
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Easy Listening » Oldies » '50s
Home » Music » Blues » Jump Blues
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling I've Got a Feelin': OKeh & Savoy Recordings 1952-1956 * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top