Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

James Brown's Funky People

New or Used: $7.00
Album: James Brown's Funky People
# Song Title   Time
1)    Gimme Some More More Info... 3:03
2)    Pass The Peas More Info... 3:12
3)    Think (About It) More Info... 3:22
4)    Givin' Up Food For Funk, Pt. 1 More Info... 3:08
5)    Mama Feelgood More Info... 3:28
6)    Hot Pants Road More Info... 2:44
7)    Rock Me Again & Again & Again & Again & Again & Again More Info... 3:24
8)    Damn Right I Am Somebody More Info... 6:24
9)    Take Me Just As I Am More Info... 3:30
10)    If You Don't Get It The First Time, Back Up And Try It Again, Party More Info... 3:33
11)    Parrty (Part 1) More Info... 3:23
12)    (It's Not The Express) It's The JB's Monaurail (Part 1) More Info... 4:06
13)    Same Beat Pt. 1 / Single Version More Info... 3:20
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Compilation producer: Tim Rogers.
  • Includes liner notes by Cliff White.
  • The first in the wildly popular three-disc series, James Brown's Funky People is an outstandingly chunky collection that spotlights some of the many talented musicians associated with James Brown and his early- to mid-'70s People Records imprint. The material comprising this disc is split primarily between the J.B.'s, Fred Wesley both with and without the J.B.'s, and one of funk's original divas, Lyn Collins. "Gimme Some More," "Pass the Peas," "Givin' up Food for Funk (Part 1)," and "Hot Pants Road" are the J.B.'s' offerings, spectacular studio recordings that highlight some of the band's best material for the label -- material which at the time was often passed over in favor of their "proper" James Brown recordings. Fred Wesley, meanwhile, weighs in with the CD-only long version of "Damn Right, I Am Somebody (Parts 1 & 2)," before joining the J.B.'s on three more tracks, including the epic "(It's Not the Express) It's the J.B.'s Monaurail (Part 1)." This particular song, credited to Fred and the New J.B.'s, was recorded during one of the more traumatic times in the James Brown camp and, when compared to the other classics on this CD, doesn't have the same spark or fire. And if anyone questioned the odd spelling in the title, the band's request that if you don't know what a monorail is "check out Seattle" clears up any doubt. The Lyn Collins tracks feature a mono version of "Mama Feelgood" and the outstanding "Think (About It)," a song that would become an iconoclastic symbol of the funk era, heavily sampled by over 40 artists during the 1980s and 1990s. Included, too, is the bonus "Same Beat (Part 1)," recorded by Wesley and the J.B.'s on September 7, 1973, in New York. ~ Amy Hanson
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » Funk
Home » Music » Funk & Soul » Soul
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling James Brown's Funky People on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top