Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Japan Tour '74

Album: Japan Tour '74
# Song Title   Time
1)    Winning
2)    Do You Wanna Dance
3)    You Keep Me Hanging On
4)    Make It Easy On Yourself/the Sun Ain't Gonna Shine Any More
5)    Get Back
6)    Fireside Song
7)    Travellin' Light
8)    Give Me Back That Old Familiar Feeling
9)    Early In the Morning
10)    Take Me High
11)    Hit Medley: Congratulations/In the Country/Dancing Shoes/the Day I Met Marie/On the Beach/Sing a Song of Freedom
12)    Constantly
13)    You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling
14)    Gospel Medley: Jesus/Amazing Grace/Jesus is My Kind of People
15)    Don't Talk To Him
16)    Bachelor Boy
17)    Rock Medley: His Latest Flame/Chantilly Lace/Bonie Maronie/Do You Wanna Dance/Crocodile Rock
18)    Higher Ground
19)    Sing a Song of Freedom
20)    Visions
21)    Power To All Our Friends
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Cliff Richard (vocals); Bruce Welch (vocals, acoustic guitar); Brian Lewis (vocals, electric guitar); Alan Tarney (vocals); Kevin Peak (classical guitar); Cliff Hall (grand piano); Barrie Guard (electric piano); Trevor Spencer (drums).
  • Recording information: Shinjuku Koseinenkin, Tokyo, Japan (10/07/1974-10/08/1974).
  • Cliff Richard was on the brink of a most unexpected comeback when he arrived in Japan in October 1974. "(You Keep Me) Hangin' On" had proven a massive hit, as he finally put the last few years of MOR meanderings behind him, and looked instead towards securing a credible niche in the adult listening marketplace; and a band that boasted the likes of Kevin Peek, Alan Tarney, Trevor Spencer, and Terry Britten was offering him the most sympathetic backing he'd had in years, at the same time as positively refusing to allow him to tread water any longer. If there was ever a great time to record a new live album, this was it. Japan Tour 1974 was Richard's third album to be recorded in that country (following on from 1968's Cliff in Japan and 1972's Live in Japan) and, like those earlier sets, it was recorded in Tokyo, this time at the Shinjuku Koseinenkin hall. Two nights were taped, and the vast majority of the performance made it onto record; indeed, only four songs went unreleased ("Living in Harmony," "Nothing to Remind Me," "The Next Time," and "Wind Me Up,") as Richard and his band turned in a phenomenal performance, sparking with energy and excitement at every turn. Much of the set comprised recent material -- "Hangin' On" is an early highlight, while even such lackluster 45s as "Power to All Our Friends" and "Sing a Song of Freedom" sound strong here. Richard's eye for great covers is sharp as well, as a pair of Walker Brothers oldies meet "Get Back," "Higher Ground," and a spine-tingling "You've Lost That Loving Feeling," while three medleys -- one devoted to hits, one to gospel, and one to old rock & roll numbers -- allow him to show off every side of his career. All in all, then, Japan Tour 1974 rates among Richard's finest-ever live albums -- which could only make his European and American fans curse ever louder. The set was initially released only in the Far East. ~ Dave Thompson
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Japan Tour '74 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top