Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Journey Through The Secret Life Of Plants

Album: Journey Through The Secret Life Of Plants
# Song Title   Time
  Disc 1
1)    Earth's Creation More Info... 4:07
2)    The First Garden More Info... 4:52
3)    Voyage To India More Info... 4:12
4)    Same Old Story More Info... 3:45
5)    Venus' Flytrap And The Bug More Info... 2:26
6)    Ai No Sono More Info... 2:06
7)    Seasons More Info... 2:55
8)    Power Flower More Info... 5:31
9)    Send One Your Love Instrumental More Info... 3:06
10)    Race Babbling More Info... 8:51
  Disc 2
1)    Send One Your Love Album Version More Info... 4:04
2)    Outside My Window More Info... 5:30
3)    Black Orchid More Info... 3:47
4)    Ecclesiastes More Info... 3:49
5)    Kesse Ye Lolo De Ye More Info... 2:59
6)    Come Back As A Flower More Info... 3:23
7)    A Seed's A Star/Tree Medley More Info... 5:55
8)    The Secret Life Of Plants More Info... 4:16
9)    Tree More Info... 5:48
10)    Finale More Info... 7:02
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Stevie Wonder (vocals, various instruments); Syreeta, Tata Vega (vocals); Ben Bridges, Rick Zunigar, Michael Sembello (guitar); Hank Redd (saxophone); Larry Gittens (trumpet); Ron Kersey (keyboards); Nathan Watts (bass); Ibrahim Camara, Lamine Konte, Dennis Davis, Joe Johnson, Earl DeRouen (percussion); Kathy Collier, Susaye Greene, Josie James, Abdoulaye Soumare, Angela Winbush, Shirley Brewer, Alexandra Brown, Marva Halcolm (background vocals).
  • German edition.
  • Stevie Wonder broke a three-year silence, one that followed a series of six classic albums released within six years, with this double album, the score/soundtrack to a little-seen environmental documentary directed by Wild Bunch co-screenwriter Walon Green. From the release of Songs in the Key of Life through the release of Plants, Wonder had been active, actually, but only as a collaborator, working with Ramsey Lewis, the Pointer Sisters, Minnie Riperton, Syreeta, Ronnie Foster, and Michael Jackson. Even so, three years was a considerable lag between albums. Anticipation was so high that this release peaked at number four on the Billboard 200 and R&B album charts. It quickly slipped to footnote status; when Wonder's 1972-1980 albums were reissued in 2000, it was left out of the program. Plants is a sprawling, fascinating album. Though it is dominated by synthesizer-heavy instrumental pieces with evocative titles, there is a handful of full-blown songs. The gorgeous, mostly acoustic ballad "Send One Your Love" was a Top Ten R&B single, while the joyous "Outside My Window" registered in the Top 60. Beyond that, there's the deep classic "Come Back as a Flower," a gently lapping, piano-led ballad featuring Syreeta on vocals. Otherwise, there are playfully oddball tracks like "Venus' Flytrap and the Bug," where Wonder chirps "Please don't eat me!" through robotizing effects, and "A Seed's a Star," which incorporates crowd noise, a robotized monologue, and a shrieking Tata Vega over a funkier and faster version of Yellow Magic Orchestra. The album is not for everyone, but it suited its purpose and allowed its maker an amount of creative wiggle room that few major-label artists experience. ~ Andy Kellman
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » Motown
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Journey Through The Secret Life Of Plants on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top