COVID-19 Response at

Read what we're doing...

The Journey


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • THE JOURNEY: DESTINY'S CHILD features songs recorded between 1958 and 1968.
  • Includes a 60-page hardcover book with liner notes by Lenny Kaye.
  • Personnel: Waylon Jennings (vocals, guitar, electric guitar); Paul Foster (vocals, guitar); Floyd Cramer (vocals, piano); Connie Smith, Jethro, Don Bowman, Dottie West, Eddy Arnold, George Hamilton IV, Hank Locklin, Hank Snow, Homer, Jerry Reed, Jim Ed Brown, Jimmy Dean, John D. Loudermilk, Anita Carter, Porter Wagoner, Archie Campbell, Skeeter Davis, Willie Nelson, Bobby Bare (vocals); Fred Carter, Jr., Jerry Reed Hubbard, Shirl Milete, Wayne Moss (guitar, electric guitar); Ray Corbin, Buddy Holly (guitar); Weldon Myrick (steel guitar); Byron Williams, Brenton Banks (violin); Marvin Chantry (viola); Harvey Wolfe (cello); King Curtis (saxophone); Harold R. "Ray Stevens" Ragsdale (trumpet, piano, harpsichord, organ, vibraphone); Hargus "Pig" Robbins (piano, organ); David Briggs , Bill Williams (piano); Richard Morris (marimba); Bobby Dyson (electric bass); Bob "Crow" Clarke, Kenny Buttrey, Ritchie Albright, Jerry Carrigan, Byron Metcalf (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Lenny Kaye.
  • Recording information: Audio Recorders, Phoenix, AZ (09/??/1958/06/20/1968); Canyon Films Of Arizona, Phoenix, AZ (09/??/1958/06/20/1968); Norman Petty Studio, Clovis, NM (09/??/1958/06/20/1968); Radio Recorders, Hollywood, CA (09/??/1958/06/20/1968); RCA Victor Studio, Nashville, TN (09/??/1958/06/20/1968); Western Recorders, Hollywood, CA (09/??/1958/06/20/1968).
  • Illustrators: Stefan Kohne; Jurgen Koop; Les Leverett; George Gimarc; R.A. Andreas; Johnny Beecher; Don Larson; John Franklin; John Dixon; Paul Foster.
  • Photographers: Stefan Kohne; Jurgen Koop; Les Leverett; George Gimarc; R.A. Andreas; Johnny Beecher; Don Larson; John Franklin; John Dixon; Paul Foster.
  • The Journey: Destiny's Child is the first of two box sets from Germany's Bear Family Records covering Waylon Jennings' pre-outlaw period. This set collects his complete recordings from his first Buddy Holly-produced single to his April 1968 RCA sessions. His rare, privately released album Waylon at J.D.'s is here, in addition to a number of other complete albums such as Folk-Country, Sings Ol' Harlan, and Love of the Common People. Also included are early demos, radio ads for Coca-Cola and other products, a number of previously unreleased cuts, and his complete A&M recordings from the early '60s. Many of Waylon's individual '60s albums have been reissued domestically, which means that much of the music herein can be had for far less than the high retail price of this box set. For hardcore fans and completists, though, The Journey: Destiny's Child is an all-inclusive survey of Waylon's early years, and the accompanying full-color hardback book is chock full of rare photos and fascinating tidbits. ~ Greg Adams
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Journey: Destiny's Child [Box] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top