SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Jump Start

Album: Jump Start
# Song Title   Time
1)    If You Were Mine
2)    Musical Mechanical Electrical Man
3)    Kick Me To the Curb
4)    You Burnt Me
5)    House of Cards
6)    Born Loser
7)    Jump Right In
8)    Life is a Journey
9)    World of Love
10)    Weatherman
11)    If You Change Your Mind
12)    No Fast Food
13)    My Chains Are Gone
14)    Moratorium On Hate
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Michael Garrett (vocals, guitar, background vocals); Lil' Ed Williams (vocals, guitar); Marty Sammon (piano, organ); Kelly Littleton (drums); James "Pookie" Young (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Blaise Barton.
  • Recording information: Joyride Studios, Chicago, IL.
  • Photographer: Paul Natkin.
  • Lil' Ed and his band have been kicking butt since the group solidified in 1987, and while Jump Start still doesn't capture the crazed energy of the band's on-stage antics, it comes pretty close. Ed's slashing slide guitar work is always incendiary and his vocals channel hints of every great bluesman from Muddy to B.B., but the thing that's most evident here is that Lil' Ed & the Blues Imperials are a band. They produce a powerful, uplifting blues-rock sound full of high spirits and solid musicianship that's greater than the sum of its parts. The album is programmed like a live late-night set with each tune morphing into the next without a pause to keep things rocking and rolling along. Things kick off with the sarcastic love song "If You Were Mine," driven by Ed's stinging guitar and Kelly Litteton's powerful four-on-the-floor drumming. "Musical Mechanical Electrical Man" keeps up the frenetic pace with its jumping, jiving backbeat and Ed's smirking vocal. There's a Latin tinge to the syncopated backbeat of "Born Looser." "Jump Right In" rides Pookie Young's propulsive bassline while Ed delivers a winking lyric crammed with sly double entendres. "No Fast Food" follows suit with a cunning lesson in gustatory satisfaction that asks, "Why go out for burgers, when at home I can eat prime steak?" The band has a serious moment near the end of the album with "Moratorium on Hate," a plea for peace on the streets that features solid piano work by guest artist Marty Sammon. But most of this album is made for house parties, smoky bars, and three-day weekends, guaranteed to kick any gathering of fun-loving friends into overdrive. Play it loud and rock out! ~ j. poet
Professional Reviews
Living Blues (p.38) - "With his expressive slide and a sly wit, the 13 original compositions and one cover sizzle and sway with style, and that's always welcome."

Billboard (p.28) - "Williams keeps the solos compact and clearly voiced, which adds a unique level of gravitas to the five-and-a-half-minute 'Life Is a Journey'..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Jump Start on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top