Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

Just a Collection of Antiques and Curios [Remaster]

Album: Just a Collection of Antiques and Curios [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Martin Luther King's Dream More Info... 2:54
2)    The Antique Suite Album Version More Info... 12:13
3)    Temperament Of Mind More Info... 4:51
4)    Fingertips More Info... 6:14
5)    Song Of A Sad Little Girl More Info... 5:29
6)    Where Is This Dream Of Your Youth? More Info... 9:07
7)    The Vision Of The Lady Of The Lake More Info... 10:03
8)    We'll Meet Again Sometime More Info... 4:17
9)    Forever More Info... 3:34
Product Details


1. Martin Luther King's Dream

2. The Antique Suite

3. Temperament Of Mind

4. Fingertips

5. Song Of A Sad Little Girl

6. Where Is This Dream Of Your Youth?

7. The Vision Of The Lady Of The Lake

8. We'll Meet Again Sometime

9. Forever

Performer Notes
  • JUST A COLLECTION OF ANTIQUES & CURIOS collects the Strawbs work for A&M Records.
  • The German version has remastered sound and three bonus cuts.
  • This album, cut live at London's Queen Elizabeth Hall in July of 1970, was the first Strawbs album to be released in the United States. It didn't do much in the U.S., but it did chart in England, and the original concert also got Rick Wakeman his first front-page coverage in the British music press, owing to his bravura performance on the solo piano spot, "Temperament for a Mind." The group is trying really hard here to make the jump from folk to folk-rock. They still play a lot of acoustic music, and some of it is surprisingly diverse, but this is a fairly successful album bridging the gap between the acoustic Strawbs combo of their first incarnation and the harder, more strident folk-rock stylings that followed on From the Witchwood, with hints of progressive leanings. The original finale, the rocking, searing nine-minute epic "Where Is the Dream of Your Youth," which clearly showed where the band was heading, was supplemented on a remastered CD reissue (A&M 540-938-2) with a haunting, moody "Vision of the Lady of the Lake," featuring Dave Cousins and Rick Wakeman, and Tony Hooper's showcase number, the surprisingly rousing "We'll Meet Again," from the same concert, and the contemporary studio creation "Forever." The latter is the only track that doesn't fit, its heavy string overdubs and studio ambience clashing with the live sound on the rest of the CD, although it does have Cousins' best vocals of the album. The sound throughout is excellent, as one might expect since the producers returned to the original concert recordings, with rich detail and an especially robust presence to John Ford's bass playing. ~ Bruce Eder
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk » General
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top