Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

Kill City/Sick of You

Album: Kill City/Sick of You
# Song Title   Time
1)    Kill City
2)    Sell Your Love
3)    Beyond the Law
4)    I Got Nothin'
5)    Johanna
6)    Night Theme
7)    Night Theme (Reprise)
8)    Consolation Prizes
9)    No Sense of Crime
10)    Lucky Monkeys
11)    Master Charge
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Iggy Pop (vocals); James Williamson (guitar); Scott Thurston (harmonica, keyboards, bass); John Hardin (saxophone); Brian Glascock (drums, percussion); Hunt Sales (drums, background vocals); Gayna (background vocals).
  • Includes liner notes by Tim Stegall & Greg Shaw.
  • Personnel: James Williamson (guitar); Iggy Pop (vocals); Scott Thurston (harmonica, keyboards, background vocals); John Harden (saxophone); Brian Glascock (drums, congas, guiro, background vocals); Hunt Sales, Tony Sales (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Ed Cherney .
  • Liner Note Authors: James Williamson; Iggy Pop.
  • Recording information: Capitol Records Studio B; Jimmy Webb's Studio.
  • Photographers: Andrew Kent; Suzan Carson.
  • To say Iggy Pop had hit bottom in 1975 is an understatement; after the final collapse of the Stooges, Iggy sank deep into drug addiction and depression, and he eventually checked himself into a mental hospital in a desperate effort to get himself clean and functional again. At the same time, James Williamson, his guitarist and writing partner in the last edition of the Stooges, still believed their collaboration had some life in it, and he talked his way into Jimmy Webb's home studio to record demos in hopes of scoring a record deal. Iggy checked out of the hospital for a weekend to cut vocal tracks, and while the demos they made were quite good, no record companies were willing to take a chance on them. The tapes sat unnoticed until 1977, when Bomp! Records issued the 1975 demos under the title Kill City after Iggy launched a comeback with the David Bowie-produced The Idiot. Kill City never hits as hard as the manic roar of the Stooges' Raw Power, but the songs are very good, and the album's more measured approach suits the dark, honest tone of the material. The sense of defeat that runs through "Sell Your Love," "I Got Nothin'," and "No Sense of Crime" was doubtless a mirror of Iggy's state of mind, but he expressed his agony with blunt eloquence, and his sneering rejection of the Hollywood street scene in "Lucky Monkeys" is all the more cutting coming from a man who had lived through the worst of it. And in the title song, Iggy expressed his state of mind and sense of purpose with a fierce clarity: "If I have to die here, first I'm going to make some noise." Considering Iggy's condition in 1975, his vocals are powerful and full-bodied, as good as anything on his solo work of the 1970s. The music is more open and bluesy than on Raw Power, and while Williamson's guitar remains thick and powerful, here he's willing to make room for pianos, acoustic guitars, and saxophones, and the dynamics of the arrangements suggest a more mature approach after the claustrophobia of Raw Power. Kill City is rough, flawed, and dark, but it also takes the pain of Iggy's nightmare days and makes something affecting out of it, and considering its origins, it's a minor triumph. ~ Mark Deming
Professional Reviews
Mojo (Publisher) (p.110) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his testament to tenacity in the face of overwhelming disappointment sounds better than ever."

Record Collector (magazine) (p.88) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The rockers are lean and punchy, while the atmospheric slowies particularly shine, all suggesting Iggy's next giant steps with Bowie."

Uncut (magazine) (p.104) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he hope shines through the devastation and the sleaze. Which is possibly why this does something that most Iggy albums cannot: touches your heart."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Kill City/Sick of You on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top