Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Ledbetter Heights

Album: Ledbetter Heights
# Song Title   Time
1)    Born With a Broken Heart
2)    Deja Voodoo
3)    Aberdeen
4)    Shame, Shame, Shame
5)    One Foot on the Path
6)    Everbody Gets the Blues
7)    While We Cry
8)    I'm Leaving You (Commit a Crime)
9)    (Let Me Up) I've Had Enough
10)    Riverside
11)    What's Goin' Down
12)    Ledbetter Heights
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band: Kenny Wayne Shepherd (vocals, guitar); Corey Sterling (vocals); Joe Nadeau (guitar); Jimmy Wallace (keyboards, percussion); Will Ainsworth (bass); Kevin Smith (drums).
  • Producers: David Z, Ken Shepherd.
  • Engineers: David Z, Rob Smith & Associates.
  • Recorded at House Of Blues, Memphis, Tennessee; Oceanway Studios, Hollywood, California; Funkytown, Minneapolis, Minnesota. Includes liner notes by James Brown.
  • Personnel: Kenny Wayne Shepherd (vocals, guitar).
  • Recording information: Funkytown, Minneapolis, MN; House of Blues Studios, Memphis, TN; Ocean Way Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA; Red River Revel, Shreveport, LA [live].
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Bill Ainsworth.
  • Since Stevie Ray Vaughan's untimely death in 1990, there has been a fear that the future of popular blues died with him. Kenny Wayne Shepherd's debut does much to dispel these concerns. Hugely influenced by the late Texan, this 18 year-old prodigy first picked up the guitar after watching an SRV show from atop one of Vaughan's amps when he was eight. Shepherd's decade-long woodshedding pays off on an album that incorporates versatility and passion missing in musicians twice his age.
  • The Shreveport native moves naturally from traditional country blues, combining steel guitar and a biting slide ("Aberdeen"), to slow Buddy Guy-styled emotiveness that gets fleshed out by southside-Chicago piano lines ("Shame, Shame, "Shame"). While Shepherd channels Howlin' Wolf's "I'm Leaving You" with the same aggresiveness that Vaughan did, his finest moment comes on a live instrumental called "While We Cry." Starting out inspired by Hendrix's gentler side, Shepherd builds up to a Claptonian pitch egged on by an appreciative crowd--at once defining himself and resurrecting the muse that was seemingly lost on a foggy night in 1990.
Professional Reviews
Q (8/00, p.124) - 3 stars out of 5 - "Rock-solid 1995 debut from precocious, flaxen-headed bluesman....those fingers generate some heat."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Ledbetter Heights on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top