Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Legends Of Acid Jazz

Album: Legends Of Acid Jazz
# Song Title   Time
1)    Boogaloo Joe More Info... 6:37
2)    Don't Deceive Me (Please Don't Go) More Info... 8:11
3)    Boardwalk Blues More Info... 4:21
4)    Dream On Little Dreamer More Info... 6:40
5)    Atlantic City Soul More Info... 4:55
6)    6:30 Blues More Info... 6:23
7)    Right On More Info... 5:41
8)    Things Ain't What They Used To Be More Info... 7:06
9)    Poppin' More Info... 6:08
10)    Someday We'll Be Together Instrumental More Info... 6:47
11)    Brown Bag More Info... 5:06
12)    Let It Be Me More Info... 5:27
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Ivan "Boogaloo Joe" Jones (guitar); Rusty Bryant, Sonny Phillips, Charles Earland, Eddie Mathias, Jimmy Lewis, Bernard Purdie.
  • Recorded in August 1969 and February 1970.
  • Personnel: Boogaloo Joe Jones (vocals, guitar, piano); Rusty Bryant (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Sonny Phillips (electric piano, organ); Charles Earland (organ); Eddie Mathias (electric bass); Jimmy Lewis (bass guitar); Bernard "Pretty" Purdie (drums).
  • Audio Remasterer: Phil DeLancie.
  • Recording information: Englewood Cliffs, NJ (08/04/1969/02/16/1970).
  • Photographer: Al Johnson .
  • Something of a B-list player in the annals of soul jazz guitar, Ivan Joseph Jones (a.k.a. Boogaloo Joe) still serves of up one of the more satisfying entries in the Legends of Acid Jazz series with this compilation of 1969's Boogaloo Joe and 1970's Right on Brother. While the "Boogaloo" moniker suggests a style limited to a cruder brand of funk, Jones is actually an articulate and versatile player. More than happy to play bluesy funk -- which he does with clean, irresistible in-the-pocket-riffing and sure-handed rhythm work -- he is also a fleet-fingered soloist, with a good bit of Grant Green and Pat Martino in his approach. Perhaps, his closest stylistic cousin is the early George Benson, but listeners will find that Jones digs down deeper, churns headier grooves, and offers a more committed brand of soul jazz than Benson does in his mid-'60s work.
  • Tenor saxophonist Rusty Bryant is a reliable presence on both sets; however, the focal point is the axis of Jones, organists Sonny Phillips and Charles Earland, and, above all, drummer Bernard Purdie. Purdie takes the soul jazz drummer's role to a higher plane on these 12 tracks, masterfully exploiting his repertoire of distinctive fills and pick-up beats to punctuate the performances and create the foundation for some state-of-the-art groovesmithing. Amidst the funk is a sprinkling of ballads and blues that provide an effective change of pace while retaining much of the intensity of the more purely funk numbers. ~ Jim Todd
Professional Reviews
JazzTimes (2/97, p.85) - "...Lovers of old-school instrumental soul shouldn't pass on this disc."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Guitar
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top