Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

Let It Come Down

Album: Let It Come Down
# Song Title   Time
1)    On Fire
2)    Do It All Over Again
3)    Don't Just Do Something
4)    Out of Sight
5)    Twelve Steps
6)    Straight and Narrow
7)    I Didn't Mean to Hurt You
8)    Stop Your Crying
9)    Anything More
10)    Won't Get to Heaven (State I'm in)
11)    Lord Can You Hear Me
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Spiritualized includes: Spaceman (vocals, banjo, harmonica, piano, keyboards); Doggen Foster (acoustic & electric guitars, harmonica);
  • Martin Schellard (guitar, banjo, piano, bass); John Coxon (guitar, piano, Farfisa organ, synthesizer); Raymond Dickaty (soprano saxophone, baritone saxophone); Tim "Thighpaulsandra" Lewis (piano, Fender Rhodes piano, Hammond C-3 organ, Mini-Moog synthesizer); Tom Edwards (vibraphone, marimba, timpani, percussion, bells); Kevin Bales (drums).
  • Additional personnel includes: London Community Gospel Choir, Mimi Parker (background vocals).
  • Recorded at Air Studios and Abbey Road Studios, London, England.
  • Spiritualized has never been a stable group. The mythology surrounding the progressive psychedelic band reads like a tabloid article--tales of drug abuse, mental distress, and inner-band turmoil are common themes. Sparking further controversy, frontman Jason Pierce fired his entire backing band prior to recording LET IT COME DOWN. Fortunately, the arguably hasty maneuver had little effect on the overall result. While there's more of an emphasis on straightforward pop songcraft than on space-rock excursions, the classic Spiritualized sound is still present.
  • Although the fourth full-length Spiritualized outing has been billed as the "rehab" album, tunes like "The Twelve Steps" and "The Straight and the Narrow" suggest a man still engaged in a struggle with his narcotic demons. Sonically, LET IT COME DOWN delves further into Pierce's beloved gospel realm. Whereas earlier efforts toyed with R&B/gospel flavoring (mixed with lovely hypnotic rock), Pierce has apparently decided that this direction is now a primary focus. Many tracks feature backing vocals by choral singers, and song titles such as "Won't Get to Heaven (the State I'm In)" and "Lord Can You Hear Me" reinforce this religious motif. All in all, another fine release and welcome addition to an ever-growing Spiritualized catalog.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (12/28/01, p.138) - Ranked #10 "Album of the Year" in EW's "Best of 2001" - "...Artistic bloat never sounded so good..."

Q (12/03, p.156) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Jason Pierce's emotive vocals ride the tempestuous swell of horns, gospel choirs and strings, while somehow galvanising a sneering cool that gives LET IT COME DOWN a rare magnificence..."

Q (10/01, pp.132-3) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...These timeless concertos for group and orchestra should create a new optimism for the possibilites of 21st century music..."

Uncut (3/03, p.121) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...It sounds tremendous..."

CMJ (10/1/01, p.13) - "...Rock'n'roll's answer to grand opera..."

Mojo (Publisher) (1/02, p.69) - Ranked #19 in Mojo's "Best [40] Albums of 2001".

Mojo (Publisher) (10/01, p.124) - "...Very Impressive..."

NME (Magazine) (12/29/01, p.59) - Ranked #2 in NME's 50 "Albums Of the Year 2001".

NME (Magazine) (9/15/01, p.39) - 9 out of 10 - "...Another towering achievment - both musically and emotionally....This is music as it's meant to be: raw, colossal and awe-inspiring..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Let It Come Down on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top