Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Let There Be Love

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Vocal » General

Let There Be Love

Artist: Engelbert Humperdinck (Recorded By)

Elsewhere $21.88 $13.90   Save $7.98 (36%)
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from UK
Order Now for Christmas with e-Gift
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Decca (USA)
Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!
Album: Let There Be Love
# Song Title   Time
1)    Let There Be Love More Info... 2:45
2)    Just The Two Of Us More Info... 3:35
3)    It Had To Be You More Info... 3:53
4)    When You Say Nothing At All More Info... 4:33
5)    With You I'm Born Again More Info... 3:25
6)    You Inspire Me More Info... 3:12
7)    Stand By Me More Info... 3:41
8)    Three Words Ain't Enough More Info... 4:08
9)    We're All Alone More Info... 4:03
10)    There's No Good In Goodbye More Info... 3:47
11)    Dance With Me More Info... 3:18
12)    Love Songs More Info... 3:19
13)    Have You Ever Really Loved A Woman More Info... 4:40
14)    My Confession More Info... 4:17

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Engelbert Humperdinck (vocals); Chantz (trumpet); Simon Franglen (synthesizer, programming); Nick Beggs (bass guitar); Dave Keary (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Eddie Hession (accordion); Howard McGill (saxophone); David Hartley (piano, keyboards); Martin Ditcham (drums, percussion); Linda Taylor, Andy Caine (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Jon Bailey.
  • Recording information: Air Studios, London, England (08/2004-09/2004).
  • Photographer: Mitch Jenkins.
  • Arranger: David Hartley.
  • Let There Be Love is an Engelbert Humperdinck album that the 68-year-old singer recorded in August and September 2004 and released in March 2005. It seems worth pointing this out at the start because a potential buyer easily could think it's just another compilation. True, there is a sticker on the shrink wrap that reads, "Brand new album of classic love songs," but it then adds confusingly "plus 3 new tracks." Actually, all of the tracks are new; the point the sticker is trying to make is that three of the songs are previously unheard compositions being introduced by Humperdinck on the disc, while the rest are his versions of familiar tunes. Also, the album is being released on Universal's Hip-O label, which specializes in compilations. But beyond these marketing misfires, it can be difficult to distinguish new Humperdinck from old Humperdinck simply because he does pretty much the same thing every time out, croon love songs in his rich, easy tenor. The emphasis here is on a small band -- piano, guitar, bass, drums -- albeit with occasional augmentation by synth programming and other instruments (plus strings, of course), and that puts the focus more squarely on the singer. The song choices range across the decades with no particular regard to the stylistic upheavals popular music has undergone from, say, 1924, when "It Had to Be You" first became a hit, to 1995, when Bryan Adams topped the charts with "Have You Ever Really Loved a Woman?" Nor does it matter whether a song originated in R&B ("Stand By Me") or country ("When You Say Nothing at All"): Humperdinck and arranger Dave Hartley smooth over all differences. And sometimes they find a natural, such as Nick Lowe's "You Inspire Me," which may be one of the more recent compositions but sounds like it comes from 50-years-earlier. None of the new songs sound like automatic additions to the Humperdinck songbook, even though the singer seems more animated when singing them, particularly "Three Words Ain't Enough." At his age, there's no telling how many new recordings he will release; he ought to have his record label make more of a point of not confusing his fans when he does. ~ William Ruhlmann

Producer:Simon Franglen; Simon Franglen
Format:CD (1 Disc)
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:7 March, 2005


1. Let There Be Love

2. Just The Two Of Us

3. It Had To Be You

4. When You Say Nothing At All

5. With You I'm Born Again

6. You Inspire Me

7. Stand By Me

8. Three Words Ain't Enough (New Song)

9. We're All Alone

10. There's No Good In Goodbye

11. Dance With Me

12. Love Song (New Song)

13. Have You Ever Really Loved A Woman?

14. My Confession (New Song)

Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

1 review(s)
All Reviews
Simon on
This album was recorded by Humperdinck toward the end of 2004, when he was 68. The sound is simple. Humperdinck has chosen songs from across the years - "It had to be You" from the 1920s; "Stand by Me", Ben E. King's classic tune from the 1960s; through to the 1995 Bryan Adams' hit "Have You Ever Really Loved a Woman". Some nice tunes - but where are his famous tunes? "After the Lovin'", "Please Release Me", "Quando, Quando, Quando" "A Man without Love" ?

1. Let There Be Love 2:44
2. Just the Two of Us 3:34
3. It Had to Be You 3:52
4. When You Say Nothing at All 4:33
5. With You I'm Born Again 3:24
6. You Inspire Me 3:12
7. Stand by Me 3:41
8. Three Words Ain't Enough 4:08
9. We're All Alone 4:03
10. There's No Good in Goodbye 3:46
11. Dance With Me 3:17
12. Love Songs 3:18
13. Have You Ever Really Loved a Woman? 4:40
14. My Confession 4:17

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Let There Be Love on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.