COVID-19 Response at

Read what we're doing...

Letter From Home


Product Description
Product Details


1. Have You Heard

2. Every Summer Night

3. Better Days Ahead

4. Spring Ain't Here

5. 45/8

6. 5-5-7

7. Beat 70

8. Dream Of The Return

9. Are We There Yet

10. Vidala

11. Slip Away

12. Letter From Home

Performer Notes
  • Pat Metheny Group includes: Pat Metheny (acoustic & electric guitars, Synclavier, synthesizer); Pedro Aznar (vocals, tenor saxophone, pipes, melodica, vibraphone, marimba, acoustic guitar, charango, percussion); Lyle Mays (trumpet, piano, organ, keyboards, Synclavier); Steve Rodby (acoustic & electric basses); Paul Wertico (drums, percussion); Armando Marcal (percussion).
  • Recorded at The Power Station, New York, New York in 1989.
  • Pat Metheny/Pat Metheny Group: Pedro Aznar (vocals, acoustic guitar, charango, panpipes, melodica, tenor saxophone, marimba, percussion); Pat Metheny (soprano, guitars, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar, tiple, guitar synthesizer); Lyle Mays (accordion, trumpet, piano, organ, keyboards, Synclavier); Steve Rodby (acoustic bass, electric bass); Paul Wertico (drums, percussion); Armando Mar‡al (percussion).
  • Picking up where Still Life (Talking) leaves off (instead of throwing listeners a curve ball like Song X), the equally triumphant Letter from Home stresses Brazilian elements with superb results. While a number of these treasures -- including "Beat 70," "Have You Heard," and "Every Summer Night" -- are light and accessible enough to have enjoyed exposure on some smooth jazz stations, Letter contains the type of depth and honesty that's sorely lacking in most smooth jazz. Metheny has always known the difference between light and lightweight, and even at his most delicate, he avoids entering "Muzak" territory. True to form, the improviser doesn't shy away from making extensive use of technology, but is insightful enough to do so in a very warm and soulful fashion. Like Still Life, Letter from Home is a fine example of a CD that is both a commercial and an artistic success. ~ Alex Henderson
Professional Reviews
Down Beat (10/89, p.29) - 4 Stars - Very Good - " of the most pleasing Group albums....Metheny, for the most part back to his signature electric guitar sound, seems intent on connecting here, and he does..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Guitar
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Letter From Home on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top