Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Life's a Riot with Spy vs Spy [30th Anniversary Edition]

Album: Life's a Riot with Spy vs Spy [30th Anniversary Edition]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Milkman of Human Kindness, The
2)    To Have and to Have Not
3)    Richard
4)    New England, A
5)    Man in the Iron Mask, The
6)    Busy Girl Buys Beauty, The
7)    Lovers Town Revisited
8)    Intro - (live)
9)    Lovers Town Revisited - (live)
10)    To Have and to Have Not - (live)
11)    Busy Girl Buys Beauty, The - (live)
12)    Man in the Iron Mask, The - (live)
13)    Richard - (live)
14)    Milkman of Human Kindness, The - (live)
15)    New England, A - (live)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Billy Bragg (vocals, guitar).
  • Audio Mixer: Grant Showbiz.
  • Audio Remasterer: Tim Young .
  • When Billy Bragg struck out on his own after mustering out of the British Army (and his short-lived punk band Riff Raff), he set out to be a one-man version of the Clash, and his first recorded salvo is nearly as strong a statement of purpose as the Clash's self-titled debut. Life's a Riot with Spy vs Spy captured Bragg in rough but indelible form: the passionate bray of his voice, the noisy report of his electric guitar, and the push and pull between small-p politics and a regular bloke's view of the world were all firmly in place, and in many respects these seven songs set the template for the first act of Bragg's career, with much of what followed essentially a variation on this theme. "To Have and to Have Not," "A New England," and "The Busy Girl Buys Beauty" proved he could write about social and political themes with unpretentious intelligence, "The Milkman of Human Kindness" and "The Man in the Iron Mask" showed he had plenty to say about affairs of the heart, and all the songs are well served by the spare, stark dynamics of Bragg's guitar-and-voice performing style. While the slightly dodgy fidelity of the low-budget recording occasionally interferes, Life's a Riot with Spy vs Spy caught enough ears to send Billy Bragg on his way to a successful career, and with good reason -- he rarely made a record that honored both his songs and his enthusiasm as effectively as he did here. ~ Mark Deming
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.95) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[J]ust Bragg, a distorted guitar and seven wise, bitter assessments of twentysomething existence..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Life's a Riot with Spy vs Spy [30th Anniversary Edition] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top