How does Fishpond Work?

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Live Adventures of Mike Bloomfield and Al Kooper

Album: The Live Adventures of Mike Bloomfield and Al Kooper
# Song Title   Time
1)    Opening Speech
2)    59th Street Bridge Song, The (Feelin' Groovy)
3)    I Wonder Who
4)    Her Holy Modal Highness
5)    Weight, The
6)    Mary Ann
7)    Together 'Til The End Of Time
8)    That's All Right
9)    Green Onions
1)    Opening Speech
2)    Sonny Boy Williamson
3)    No More Lonely Nights
4)    Dear Mr. Fantasy
5)    Don't Throw Your Love On Me So Strong
6)    Finale: Refugee
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Al Kooper (vocals, keyboards); Mike Bloomfield, Carlos Santana (electric guitar); Roosevelt Gook (piano); John Kahn (bass); Skip Prokop (drums); Paul Simon (background vocals); Elvin Bishop.
  • Reissue producer: Bob Irwin.
  • Engineers include: Phil Macy, Fred Catero, Don Puluse.
  • Recorded live at Bill Graham's Fillmore Auditorium, San Francisco, California on September 26-28, 1968. Includes liner notes by Mike Bloomfield, Al Kooper and Tom Wheeler.
  • Personnel: Al Kooper (vocals, keyboards); Michael Bloomfield (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Rev. Ron Stallings (saxophone); Roosevelt Gook (piano, keyboards); Skip Prokop (drums).
  • Liner Note Authors: Tom Wheeler; Al Kooper; Michael Bloomfield.
  • Recording information: Bill Graham's Fillmore Auditorium, San Francisco (09/26/1968-09/28/1968); Filmore Auditorium, San Francisco, CA (09/26/1968-09/28/1968).
  • Directors: Adam Block ; Mark Feldman .
  • Photographers: Bruce Steinberg; Jim Marshall ; Bob Cato.
  • This warts-and-all document of three shows recorded live at the old Fillmore West in September 1968 is a genuinely entertaining period piece. Designed to cash in on the success of the Bloomfield/Kooper/Stills live-in-the-studio SUPER SESSION which had been a surprise hit earlier that year, this nonetheless features only one tune from that album, the lengthy psychedelic jam "His Holy Modal Majesty."
  • The rest of the album is mostly traditional blues, with the notable exceptions of an inventive slow soul version of Paul Simon's "59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy)," an all-instrumental take on the Band's "The Weight," and a loose run through of Traffic's "Mr. Fantasy," which gives Kooper the opportunity to quote from the Beatles then-current hit "Hey Jude." The ensemble playing is occasionally a little sloppy, and some of the soloing is by modern standards a tad indulgent, but by and large this is highly creative music-making regardless of its era.
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top