SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Live One

New or Used: $29.99
Album: The Live One
# Song Title   Time
1)    Intro
2)    Jenny Lee
3)    Demolition Man
4)    Short Fuse Blues
5)    Keep Your Motor Running
6)    Every Girl I See
7)    Up All Night Thinking
8)    Purple Haze
9)    Berwick Road
10)    Take Me to Chicago
11)    How Long?
12)    Bullfrog Blues
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Dave Hole (vocals, guitar); Bob Patient (keyboards); Roy Daniel (bass); J Mattes, Ric Eastman (drums).
  • Recorded live in Chicago, Illinois and Perth, Australia. Includes liner notes by Dave Rubin.
  • Personnel: Bob Patient (keyboards); Jay Mattes, Ric Eastman (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: John Villani.
  • Liner Note Author: Dave Rubin.
  • Recording information: Buddy Guy's Legends, Chicago, IL (12/18/2001-07/26/2002); Chord On Blues, St. Charles, IL (12/18/2001-07/26/2002); Metro Mobile Audio (12/18/2001-07/26/2002); The Charles Hotel, North Perth, Western Australia, Aust (12/18/2001-07/26/2002).
  • Photographer: Chuck Winans.
  • While subtlety isn't exactly his strong suit -- especially live -- it's also not what Dave Hole fans expect out of their Australian slide guitar slinger. The word "ferocious" best describes his over-the-fret, over-the-top technique, and what was merely intense on his studio albums gets kicked up a few notches in concert. Like George Thorogood, Hound Dog Taylor, or Rory Gallagher (whose vocal phrasing is also an influence), he's nailed his niche, best described as explosive Elmore James. Hole happily plays to his strengths without pushing the boundaries past where his fans comfortably expect. In other words, if you're already hooked through any of his six previous studio discs, you'll want to own this inflammatory live set. Even on a slow blues like "Short Fuse Blues," Hole cranks out squealing, screeching sounds with machine gun velocity. Covers of Willie Dixon's "Every Girl I See," "Bullfrog Blues," (a longtime Gallagher concert favorite) and a nearly seven-minute "Purple Haze" provide familiar songs over which he lays his slide shenanigans to deliver high-octane, crowd-pleasing thrills. Things calm down -- temporarily -- on the Celtic-styled instrumental ballad "Berwick Road," the album's only respite from the fuel-igniting guitar sparks that shoot out of Hole's frets. The super-charged performance is a lot to handle for all but the most committed. However, if you're already on the Hole-train, The Live One is a locomotive-sized dose of what you've bought a ticket for. ~ Hal Horowitz
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Live One on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top