Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Live at Leeds and More

Album: Live at Leeds and More
# Song Title   Time
1)    Outside In
2)    Solid Air
3)    Make No Mistake
4)    Bless This Weather
5)    Man in the Station, The
6)    I'd Rather Be the Devil
7)    My Baby Girl
8)    You Can Discover
9)    So Much in Love with You
10)    Clutches
11)    Mailman
1)    Big Muff
2)    Over the Rainbow
3)    Yes We Can
4)    Step It Up
5)    Dealer
6)    Beverly
7)    Looking On
8)    River, The
9)    Root Love
10)    Anna
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: John Martyn, Paul Kossoff (guitar); Danny Thompson (bass); John Stevens (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Drew Heatley.
  • Recording information: Leeds University (10/1975).
  • This 1975 live album captures singer-songwriter John Martyn at his peak. Martyn emerged as part of Britain's traditional folk scene, but as the 1970s wore on he became increasingly experimental with his sound, dabbling in jazzy structures and creating expansive guitar-scapes with a host of effects. This concert features Martyn performing with bassist Danny Thompson, and the rapport between the two is fluid and kinetic. The duo, freed up by the live setting, stretch the song "Outside In" to almost 20 minutes, and lend a fierce, near-psychedelic propulsion to Skip James's "I'd Rather Be the Devil." Martyn sounds as good here as he does on his studio albums, making LIVE AT LEEDS a fine example of his compelling art.
Professional Reviews
Record Collector (magazine) (p.86) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "A more illustrative example of Martyn's legendary duality is hard to imagine: the raucous, pugnacious pub-goer butting heads with the tender, spiritual poet."

Uncut (magazine) (p.114) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "LIVE AT LEEDS began with an 18-minute epic, 'Outside In', saturated in hypnotic echo, with an organic yet logical structure..."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Live at Leeds and More on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top