Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Live at Royal Albert Hall [CD/DVD]

Album: Live at Royal Albert Hall [CD/DVD]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Show Some Emotion
2)    All the Way from America
3)    Two Tears
4)    Promises
5)    Into the Blues
6)    Love and Affection
7)    Tall in the Saddle
8)    Love Love Love
9)    My Baby's Gone
10)    Weakness in Me, The
11)    You Rope You Tie Me
12)    Heading Back to New York City
13)    Call Me Names
14)    Me Myself, I
15)    Willow
1)    Show Some Emotion
2)    Something's Gotta Blow
3)    All the Way from America
4)    Two Tears
5)    Cry
6)    Promises
7)    Into the Blues
8)    Woman in Love, A
9)    Love Love Love
10)    Love and Affection
11)    Tall in the Saddle
12)    My Baby's Gone
13)    This Charming Life
14)    Weakness in Me, The
15)    Best Dress On
16)    You Rope You Tie Me
17)    Heading Back to New York City
18)    Call Me Names
19)    Me Myself I
20)    Willow
21)    Drop the Pilot
22)    This Charming Life [Video] [Live in Denver USA]
23)    Best Dress On [Video] [Live in Denver USA]
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Joan Armatrading (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Gary Foote (saxophone, drums); Spencer Cozens (keyboards).
  • Audio Mixers: Graham Dickson; Joan Armatrading.
  • Liner Note Author: James Soars.
  • Recording information: Royal Albert Hall (04/2010).
  • Directors: Joan Armatrading; Rich Raney; Dan Higginson.
  • Editors: Joan Armatrading; Rich Raney; Dan Higginson.
  • Photographer: Alan Barrow.
  • Arranger: Joan Armatrading.
  • Joan Armatrading's 2010 album, This Charming Life, was a critical triumph, as the mercurial singer/songwriter dove head on into rock & roll territory. It was a first. That's said, it was only one of the stellar studio albums she issued in the 21st century. The largely unheard masterpiece Lover's Speak, issued on Denon, was her first self-produced, self-performed effort that created the template followed on This Charming Life. That album is among the most searing meditations on love from all sides we have in the pop music canon. 2009's Into the Blues was just that; her first-ever foray into the genre. She proved not only familiar with it, but that she could flourish in it, as well. Which brings us to Live at Royal Albert Hall, a double-disc CD/DVD package recorded at the prestigious London venue as part of the sold-out world tour supporting This Charming Life. It took her through North America, Europe, and the U.K. Backed by bassist John Giblin, drummer and saxophonist Gary Foote, and keyboardist Spencer Cozens. The CD contains 15 tracks from the gig, and the DVD the entire concert with the full 21-song performance. Armatrading standbys like the opener "Show Some Emotion," "Love and Affection," and the still provocative "(I Love It When) You Call Me Names" are given tweaked arrangements to fit this tight four-piece setting. Armatrading's guitar playing has never been more agile or visceral. The funk rock stomp that is "Heading Back to New York City" goes pretty far in establishing her as a virtuoso. More recent songs, such as the anthemic "Two Tears," the forceful waltz "Promises," the soulful, stinging 12-bar "Into the Blues," and "My Baby's Gone" are simply electrifying. Armatrading's trademark understated passion is given full flower. Check "You Rope Me, You Tie Me," and "Me Myself, I," originally on Steppin' Out: The former is a straight-up rocker, the latter a souled-out R&B number with a funky backbeat, which both underscore that despite modified arrangements, Armatrading's emotional depth and unique vocal phrasing wring even more emotion from her songs in a live setting. The DVD was recorded in a four r-camera shoot and captures the concert -- and two performances from Denver -- in brilliant video and audio. Live at Royal Albert Hall is not only the most electrifying live album in Armatrading's long career, it is one of the most satisfying entries in it, period. ~ Thom Jurek
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk » General
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top