Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

"Live" at the White House

Album: "Live" at the White House (...And in Space)
# Song Title   Time
1)    Introduction
2)    You Ain't Gonna Have Ol' Buck to Kick Around No More
3)    Act Naturally
4)    Together Again
5)    Love's Gonna Live Here
6)    Crying Time
7)    Happy Times Are Here Again
8)    Streets of Laredo
9)    Orange Blossom Special
10)    Gentle On My Mind
11)    When I Turn Twenty-One
12)    I've Got a Tiger by the Tail
13)    Truck Drivin' Man
14)    Good Ole Mountain Dew - (previously unreleased)
15)    Sam's Place - (previously unreleased)
16)    Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms - (previously unreleased)
17)    White Lightning - (previously unreleased)
18)    Georgia Pineywoods - (previously unreleased)
19)    I've Got a Happy Heart - (previously unreleased)
20)    Milwaukee Here I Come - (previously unreleased)
21)    Sally Was a Good Old Girl - (previously unreleased)
22)    Tall Dark Stranger - (previously unreleased)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Buck Owens (vocals, guitar); Don Rich (vocals, guitar, fiddle); Buddy Alan (vocals, guitar); Doyle Holly (vocals); Tom Brumley (steel guitar); Jerry Wiggins (drums); The Buckaroos.
  • Liner Note Author: Patrick Milligan.
  • Recording information: Buck Owens Studios, Oildale, CA (06/20/1972); The White House (06/20/1972); Buck Owens Studios, Oildale, CA (09/09/1968); The White House (09/09/1968).
  • While Bakersfield, California was his home and base of operations, Buck Owens was born in Texas, and it was a fellow Texan who asked him to play one of his most prestigious gigs when Lyndon Baines Johnson invited Owens and his band to perform at the White House in the summer of 1968. Owens brought along a portable recording rig for the occasion, and "Live" At the White House is a scrappy, warts-and-all document of Buck's special show for LBJ, recorded straight to two-track, though truth to tell there aren't that many warts. Owens and his band the Buckaroos were one of the strongest live acts in country music in their heyday, and though Owens and company occasionally sound a bit nervous playing for the President (particularly bassist Doyle Holly, who briefly fumbles his vocal feature on "Streets of Laredo"), for the most part the musicians are tight and approach the material with plenty of fire, especially Don Rich, who delivers excellent guitar work and a roaring fiddle solo on "Orange Blossom Special." And if Owens leans a bit too hard on his comic relief during his brief set, you can tell he's thrilled to be playing for the President and the excitement is palpable. "Live" At the White House doesn't hold a candle to 1966's The Carnegie Hall Concert, but as a document of one special night in the life of Buck Owens, it's good fun and demonstrates just how strong Owens and his band were in their prime.~ Mark Deming
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling "Live" at the White House (...And in Space) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top