SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Live from Mars

New or Used: 13 copies from $5.01
Album: Live from Mars
# Song Title   Time
1)    Glory and Consequence
2)    Excuse Me Mr.
3)    Alone
4)    Sexual Healing
5)    Woman in You, The
6)    Ground on Down
7)    Steal My Kisses
8)    Burn One Down
9)    Mama's Got a Girlfriend
10)    Welcome to the Cruel World
11)    Forgiven
12)    Faded / Whole Lotta Love
1)    Waiting on an Angel
2)    Roses From My Friends
3)    Power of the Gospel
4)    Pleasure and Pain
5)    Please Bleed
6)    Drugs Don't Work, The
7)    In the Lord's Arms
8)    Not Fire, Not Ice
9)    Beloved One
10)    #3
11)    Walk Away
12)    Another Lonely Day
13)    Like A King / I'll Rise
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals: Ben Harper (vocals, guitar); Juan Nelson (bass, background vocals); Dean Butterworth (drums, background vocals); Nick Rich, Rahzel (background vocals).
  • Throughout the '90s, Ben Harper's blend of blues, funk, soul, and folk quietly earned him a hardcore following of diehard fans over the span of four studio albums. For the two-CD LIVE FROM MARS, Harper and his tight three-piece band the Innocent Criminals cull performances from a variety of concerts, featuring interesting arrangements and odd nuances applied to his best-known songs, along with an eclectic array of covers.
  • Armed with his hollow-neck '20s-era Weissenborn lap slide guitar, Harper rages throughout the plugged-in Disc One with highlights including the human-beat box-driven radio hit "Steal My Kisses," and the churning opening number "Glory & Consequence." "Burn One Down," a sprightly ode to herb, evokes Bob Marley's "Redemption Song," while a simmering "Sexual Healing" channels the spirit of Marvin Gaye. Unplugged and introspective, Disc Two overflows with Biblical metaphors captured in delicate numbers like "Waiting on An Angel," "Power of the Gospel," and "In the Lord's Arms." Tying it all together is a heartfelt reading of the Verve's "The Drugs Don't Work," and the epic 10-minute closer "Like a King/I'll Rise," featuring lyrics borrowed from a Maya Angelou poem.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (5/10/01, pp.84,86) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...This generous live set...shows off his influences exceptionally....Harper's range is so broad and his technical ability beyond that of so many of his peers..."

Entertainment Weekly (3/30/01, pp.66-7) - "...Ideal for the hardcore fans as well as the uninitiated....Harper's roots are exposed for all to see....Both his singing and melodies have a calming, Zen-like quality..." - Rating: B+

CMJ (4/9/01, p.26) - "...A treat for those who dig a little message with their neo-blues jamming..."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Live from Mars on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top