Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Living in the Material World [Bonus Tracks]

Album: Living in the Material World [Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Give Me Love (Give Me Peace on Earth)
2)    Sue Me, Sue You Blues
3)    Light That Has Lighted the World, The
4)    Don't Let Me Wait Too Long
5)    Who Can See It
6)    Living in the Material World
7)    Lord Loves the One, The (That Loves the Lord)
8)    Be Here Now
9)    Try Some Buy Some
10)    Day the World Get 'Round, The
11)    Thats All
12)    Deep Blue - (bonus tracks)
13)    Miss O'Dell - (bonus track)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: George Harrison (vocals, guitars); John Barnham (strings); Jim Horn (saxophone, flute); Nicky Hopkins, Gary Wright (keyboards); Klaus Voorman (bass); Jim Keltner, Ringo Starr (drums); Zakir Hussein (tabla).
  • Additional personnel: Jim Gordon (drums on "Try Some Buy Some").
  • Recorded at Apple Studio, London, England
  • All songs written by George Harrison.
  • Personnel: George Harrison (vocals, guitar); Klaus Voormann (bass guitar); Zakir Hussain (tabla); John Barham (strings); Jim Horn (flute, saxophone); Gary Wright, Nicky Hopkins (keyboards); Jim Gordon , Jim Keltner, Ringo Starr (drums).
  • Audio Remasterers: Sam O'Kell; Steve Rooke.
  • Liner Note Author: Kevin Howlett.
  • Recording information: Apple Studio, London, England.
  • Photographers: Ken Marcus; Barry Feinstein; Mal Evans.
  • On his first studio album since the artistic and commercial triumph of his 1970 solo debut, Harrison opted to produce himself rather than continue his association with producer Phil Spector. Boasting an intimate, organic sound that is far-removed from Spector's wall-of-sound production of ALL THINGS MUST PASS, LIVING IN THE MATERIAL WORLD shows a more reflective, acoustic-oriented side of the ex-Beatle. The album opens on a high note with Harrison's number one hit "Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth)," a gorgeous, soaring pop song that is a perfect showcase of Harrison's earnest vocals and distinctive slide guitar playing. Though none of the other songs on the album are quite as spectacular as "Give Me Love," there are many excellent tracks, including the Beatlesque "Don't Let Me Wait Too Long" and "Sue Me, Sue You Blues," a biting commentary on the Beatles' business problems circa 1973, which features Ringo Starr on drums and some exceptionally potent slide guitar from Harrison.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (7/19/73, p.54) - "...the most concise, universally conceived work by a former Beatle since PLASTIC ONO BAND...Harrison's plaintive vocals and gently weeping guitar contribute immeasurably...the album stands alone as an article of faith, miraculous in its radiance..."

Q (p.156) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he introspective moods of 'The Light That Had Lighted The World' and 'Who Can See It', with their ornate instrumentation and weepy vocals are lovely things."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.124) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his long overdue reissue is worth it alone for four wonderful songs....It's never less than musical and often light on its feet."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Living in the Material World [Bonus Tracks] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top