SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Long After Dark [180 Gram Vinyl]

Album: Long After Dark [180 Gram Vinyl]
# Song Title   Time
1)    One Story Town, A
2)    You Got Lucky
3)    Deliver Me
4)    Change of Heart
5)    Finding Out
6)    We Stand a Chance
7)    Straight Into Darkness
8)    Same Old You, The
9)    Between Two Worlds
10)    Wasted Life, A
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers: Tom Petty (vocals, guitar); Benmont Tench (vocals, keyboards); Howe Epstein (vocals, bass); Stan Lynch (vocals, drums); Mike Campbell (guitar, organ).
  • Additional personnel: Ron Blair (bass); Phil Jones (percussion).
  • Recorded at Record Plant, Wally Heider's, and CA Crystal, Hollywood, California; Rumbo Studios, Canoga Park, California.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • On his first four albums, Petty pulled off the impressive feat of starting out great and improving with each record. LONG AFTER DARK may not have extended that streak to five, but it came pretty damn close, and it's a solid, above-average offering that has more in common with the hard-rocking DAMN THE TORPEDOS than the more introspective, folk-tinged HARD PROMISES. Sonically, LONG AFTER DARK is flawless, it's the hardest Petty and company have ever rocked; Petty and Campbell's guitars would never sound this raw again (Petty had been listening to some AC/DC at the time, which obviously helped). Lyrically, the album is almost unrelentingly bleak, as Petty weaves tale after tale of hard luck and working men doomed to lives of tribulation. He's popmeister enough to keep it catchy, so you don't get bogged down by the weighty topics, and wise enough to disavow any Beautiful Loser claims ("I don't think pain is so romantic").
Professional Reviews
Q (8/01, p.154) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...The sound of water being expertly trodden...housing the exquisite 'You Got Lucky' and 'Finding Out'..."

CMJ (1/5/04, p.12) - Ranked #20 in CMJ's "Top 20 Most-Played Albums of 1983".
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Long After Dark [180 Gram Vinyl] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top