Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Lost Songs 95-98

Album: Lost Songs 95-98
# Song Title   Time
1)    Flame Turns Blue
2)    Twilight
3)    Hold On
4)    As I'm Leaving
5)    If Your Love is Real
6)    Tidal Wave
7)    Falling Down the Mountainside
8)    January Rain
9)    Red Moon
10)    Clean Pair of Eyes, A
11)    Wurlitzer
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: David Gray (vocals, guitar, Wurlitzer piano); Tim Bradshaw (Wurlitzer piano, Hammond B-3 organ, bass); Clune (bass, drums, background vocals).
  • Producers include: David Gray, McClune, Polson.
  • Recorded from October 20-29, 1999.
  • David Gray was nominated for the 2002 Grammy Award for Best New Artist.
  • Personnel: David Gray (vocals, guitar, Wurlitzer organ); Clune (vocals, drums); Tim Bradshaw (piano, Wurlitzer organ).
  • Audio Mixer: Iestyn.
  • Recording information: Protocol Studios (10/20/1999-10/29/1999).
  • Photographers: John Ross ; Lawrence Watson.
  • Singer-songwriter David Gray spent several years languishing in obscurity before his 2000 breakthrough with THE WHITE LADDER. Part of what helped Gray reach a wider audience was the incorporation of subtle electronic flavors into his Bob Dylan/Van Morrison-influenced folk-rock. The odds and ends collected on LOST SONGS predate that maneuver and will give latecomers an idea of Gray's more organic background. The album is heavy on ballads, mostly based around Gray's own simple-but-fervent acoustic guitar strumming and rich, expressive burr of a voice. Though breakbeats are absent from the sonic formula here, anyone attracted to WHITE LADDER will find these earlier recordings of a piece with that album, full of unpretentious lyrics, basic-but-effective melodies, and plenty of honest emotion.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (4/27/01, p.118) - "...Beautiful...These melancholic love tunes...offer stripped-down acoustic guitar arrangements and Gray's characteristic bittersweet vocals..." - Rating: B

Q (3/01, p.119) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...The sheer simplicity of these acoustic laments makes for moving listening....touching and beautiful..."

Mojo (Publisher) (3/01, p.106) - "...Simple, wrenching songs...not to be underrated."

NME (Magazine) (3/10/01, p.33) - 6 out of 10 - "...A tender, simple folk album fit for Sunday afternoons....A man who's welcome to soundtrack our most doleful, self-pitying moments..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Lost Songs 95-98 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top