SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Lost in Translation

New or Used: $6.07
Album: Lost in Translation
# Song Title   Time
1)    Intro/Tokyo
2)    City Girl - Kevin Shields
3)    Fantino - S‚bastien Tellier
4)    Tommib - Squarepusher
5)    Girls - Death in Vegas
6)    Goodbye - Kevin Shields
7)    Too Young - Phoenix
8)    Kaze Wo Atsumete - Happy End
9)    On the Subway - Roger Joseph Manning, Jr./Brian Reitzell
10)    Ikebana - Kevin Shields
11)    Sometimes - My Bloody Valentine
12)    Alone in Kyoto - Air
13)    Shibuya - Roger Joseph Manning, Jr./Brian Reitzell
14)    Are You Awake? - Kevin Shields
15)    Just Like Honey/More Than This - The Jesus and Mary Chain/Bryan Ferry
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • A remarkably sequenced soundtrack, the LOST IN TRANSLATION album features inspired and unusual selections that perfectly complement Sofia Coppola's acclaimed second film, which focuses on two lonely Americans (played by Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson) in Tokyo, Japan. The most notable artist on the collection is My Bloody Valentine mastermind Kevin Shields, who contributes one older tune by his former band ("Sometimes") and four new fuzzed-out, atmospheric songs ("City Girl," "Goodbye," "Ikebana," and "Are You Awake?"), marking the notorious perfectionist's first substantial output since the early 1990s.
  • Air, who composed an excellent score for Coppola's debut, THE VIRGIN SUICIDES, add the somber "Alone in Kyoto" to the mix, while fellow Frenchmen Phoenix offer up the buoyant, poppy "Too Young" to lighten the mood. Other highlights include Squarepusher's gauzy "Tommib" and Happy End's "Kaze Wo Atsumete," an early-1970s, acoustic-guitar-driven track (and the only tune here by a Japanese performer). While many soundtracks are forgotten after their accompanying movies fade from the spotlight, the eclectic, yet oddly cohesive, LOST IN TRANSLATION collection stands on its own as an outstanding mix. (Note: Be sure to let the album play after Jesus & Mary's Chain's "Just Like Honey" for a hidden track featuring Murray crooning Roxy Music's "More Than This.")
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (9/18/03, p.72) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Shields' new work is low-key, murky but richly atmospheric--guitar feedback rarely sounded this pretty."

Entertainment Weekly (10/10/03, pp.124-5) - "...[As the movie ends,] it's almost painful to abandon [Coppola's] magical atmosphere. This soundtrack helps ease the transition..." - Rating: B+

Q (11/03, p.126) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...'Goodbye' and 'Ikebana' see bubbling electronica peppered with delicate licks of guitar..."

CMJ (9/22/03, p.4) - "...Soundly encapsulates all the dreamy disassociation and surrealism that one can experience while drowning in a foreign culture....[Kevin Shields' new material] still drips with the Valentine's signature drone and drugged-up melodies..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Soundtracks » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Lost in Translation on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top