COVID-19 Response at

Read what we're doing...

Love Held Lightly


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Peggy Lee (vocals), John Chiodini (guitar), Phil Bodner (alto saxophone, bass flute), Ken Peplowski (tenor saxophone), Glenn Zottola (trumpet, flugelhorn), George Masso (trombone), Keith Ingham (piano), Mark Sherman (vibraphone, percussion), Jay Leonhart (bass), Grady Tate (drums),
  • Producers: Bill Rudman, Ken Bloom, Keith Ingham.
  • Includes liner notes by Will Friedwald and Edward Jablonski.
  • All songs written by Harold Arlen.
  • Most of the tracks on LOVE HELD LIGHTLY... are previously unreleased Harold Arlen songs written for unproduced stage, film and television musicals; this collection spans approximately fifty years of work. A number of lyricists are also represented including Johnny Mercer, Peggy Lee and Truman Capote.
  • Personnel: Peggy Lee (vocals); Phil Bodner (flute, bass flute, alto saxophone, bass instrument); Jay Leonhart (bass instrument); John Chiodini (guitar); Ken Peplowski (tenor saxophone); Glenn Zottola (trumpet, flugelhorn); George Masso (trombone); Keith Ingham (piano); Mark Sherman (vibraphone, percussion); Grady Tate (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Andrew Milano.
  • Liner Note Authors: Ken Bloom; Edward Jablonski; Will Friedwald.
  • Recording information: New York, NY (08/29/1988-09/02/1988).
  • Photographer: Gino Falzarano.
  • Arranger: Keith Ingham.
  • In 1988, Peggy Lee was persuaded to leave her casual retirement by the promise of recording some recently unearthed Harold Arlen songs. Her voice was far less attractive and vivacious than it had been even in the '70s, and health problems forced her to record everything from a wheelchair; what's more, when she heard the results, she refused to let the record be released for another three years. Nevertheless, Love Held Lightly is an important album, not just because it saves a few Arlen compositions from the brink of disaster, but also because Lee's unpretty voice serves this material well. When she sings "Come on, Midnight" or "I Had a Love Once," she sings the twilight years with as much poignancy as she sang middle age on her '60s hit, "Is That All There Is?" Her group featured sensitive accompaniment from Ken Peplowski on tenor and Keith Ingham on piano (the latter also arranged and directed). Another highlight, "Buds Won't Bud," blossoms from just another saloon song into a playful, what-the-hell romp. Eight of the songs received their first recording here, including a Lee/Arlen collaboration from decades previously. The only standard, "My Shining Hour" (lyric by Johnny Mercer), comes last, thus allowing Lee to end on a wise, confident note, accompanied only by acoustic guitar. ~ John Bush
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (6/25/93, p.106) - "...Two bittersweet `unknowns' from failed musicals, "Come On, Midnight" and "I Had A Love Once," will likely live on once other singers hear Lee's darkly moving readings..." - Rating: B+
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Vocal » Show Vocals
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Love Held Lightly: Rare Songs by Harold Arlen on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top