Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Love and War *

New or Used: $17.00
Album: Love and War *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Heaven South
2)    Last Time for Everything
3)    One Beer Can
4)    Go to Bed Early
5)    Drive of Shame
6)    Contact High
7)    Love and War
8)    Today
9)    selfie#theinternetisforever
10)    Grey Goose Chase
11)    Gold All Over the Ground
12)    Dying to See Her - (featuring Bill Anderson)
13)    Solar Power Girl
14)    Devil Is Alive and Well, The
15)    Meaning Again
16)    Heaven South (Reprise)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Brad Paisley (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, dobro, mandolin); Brent Anderson (acoustic guitar); Gary Hooker (electric guitar); Kendall Marcy (banjo, piano, Hammond b-3 organ, keyboards, synthesizer); Justin Williamson (fiddle); Gordon Mote (piano, keyboards); Ben Sesar (drums).
  • Reuniting with Luke Wooten, the co-producer of Moonshine in the Trunk, Brad Paisley essentially supercharges that 2014 album for 2017's Love and War. Paisley hauls out all his old tricks, singing about the love of country and family, heartbreak, and middle-aged melancholy, then adds a heavy dose of superstar power, contracting Timbaland for two cuts, bringing in both Mick Jagger and John Fogerty for duets, then tipping his hat to classic country by inviting Bill Anderson to sing "Dying to See Her." Johnny Cash makes an appearance, too, with Paisley adapting the late singer's poem "Gold All Over the Ground" into a song, a subtle moment in an album largely lacking in them. While there is some appeal in this bright blast of sound, especially when he's in party mode -- "One Beer Can" in particular recounts the aftermath of a raucous adolescent bash -- it can also seem vaguely desperate, as if he's still clutching a reality that's faded into the past. Sometimes, Paisley acknowledges his advancing years: "Last Time for Everything" admits everything must come to an end, while the novelty "selfie#theinternetisforever" -- a sweeter version of his earlier "Online" -- accidentally reveals a curmudgeonly streak within the singer/songwriter. Strikingly, his invited elder statesman sound looser than he does, with Fogerty tearing into the title track and Jagger savoring all the punch lines on "Drive of Shame." ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone - 3 stars out of 5 -- "'Drive of Shame' conjures latter-day Stones with new BFF Mick Jagger....Timbaland drops by to sharpen beats..."

Paste (magazine) - "Rolling Stone Mick Jagger is in fine fettle trading verses with Paisley on the morning after stomper 'Drive of Shame.'"
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Love and War * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top