Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.


Album: Lowborn
# Song Title   Time
1)    We Are Destroyer
2)    Armageddon
3)    Stranger Ways
4)    Velvet Covered Brick
5)    Atonement
6)    Birds of Prey
7)    Dissenter
8)    Losing It All
9)    Hearing Voices
10)    Harbinger
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Lyricist: Stephen Christian .
  • Audio Mixer: Adam Hawkins .
  • Recording information: Glow In The Dark, Atlanta, TN; The Pier, Franklin, TN; The Vanguard Room, Lakeland, FL.
  • In January of 2014, Anberlin announced their intentions to split and that they were working on their farewell album with longtime producer/engineers Aaron Marsh, Matt Goldman, and Aaron Sprinkle. As with 2012's Vital, the band's seventh and final studio album, 2014's Lowborn, finds the Florida-based outfit delving even deeper into an electronic-tinged, heavy metal-infused sound. In many ways, this move toward a heavier, more intense aesthetic has been Anberlin's trajectory since 2009's ebullient, anthemic Dark Is the Way, Light Is the Place. Where that album found the group delivering a handful of melodic anthems that brought to mind the joyous guitar uplift of U2, subsequent releases revealed a band that had more in common with the arch alt-rock wickedness of Muse, AFI, and Blessthefall, than Coldplay, Switchfoot, or any of the other post-U2-leaning bands they might have previously been compared to. Which isn't to say that Anberlin sound like any of the aforementioned bands on Lowborn. On the contrary, lead singer Stephen Christian has always had his own baritone, gravitas-laden take on how to be a rock frontman and Lowborn is no exception to that. Backed with the band's ceaseless muscularity and sustained sense of drama, Christian soars through a handful of stand-out numbers like expansive, apocalyptic "Armageddon," the driving and romantic "Velvet Covered Brick," and the yearning "Atonement." If there is a heaviness -- an emotional weight that seems to be bearing down upon Christian and Anberlin throughout Lowborn -- chalk it up to a band nearing the end of an almost 15-year career. However, despite this heaviness, Anberlin have crafted an album of deeply emotive and, one imagines for longtime fans, cathartic songs. As Christian sings on the elegiac album closer, "Harbinger," "I don't want to go now, but I've got to/For you to remember me." ~ Matt Collar
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Lowborn on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top