Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Lucky Lucy Ann *

Album: Lucky Lucy Ann *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Sitting in the Sun
2)    How About You?
3)    I'm Just a Lucky So and So
4)    Squeeze Me
5)    When the Sun Comes Out
6)    Makin' Whoopee
7)    Don'cha Go 'Way Mad
8)    Sittin' and A-Rockin'
9)    Memphis in June
10)    Time After Time
11)    Easy Living
12)    Looking at You
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Lucy Ann Polk (vocals), Bob Hardaway (tenor saxophone), Dick Noel (trombone), Marty Paich (piano), Tony Rizzi (guitar), Buddy Clark (bass), Mel Lewis (drums).
  • Recorded at Radio Recorders, Hollywood, California on July 12, 1957.
  • Personnel: Lucy Ann Polk (vocals); Bob Hardaway (tenor, tenor saxophone); Tony Rizzi (guitar); Dick Noel (trombone); Marty Paich (piano); Mel Lewis (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Joe Quinn .
  • Recording information: Radio Recorders, Hollywood, CA (07/12/1957).
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Eva Diana.
  • Lucy Ann Polk's lone Mode/VSOP session pairs the singer with a sextet led by pianist and arranger Marty Paich, whose nuanced, spacious orchestrations perfectly complement Polk's sultry yet supremely controlled style. The strength of Lucky Lucy Ann is its subtlety -- not a note is wasted or extraneous, and for all the modernist elements converging in Paich's arrangements, he never obscures the clarity of perennials like "Makin' Whoopee" and "Time After Time." Polk likewise shades the universal themes of the lyrics with a style and fierce intelligence all her own -- for all the power of her voice, it's her restraint that rings loudest and clearest. ~ Jason Ankeny
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Vocal » General
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top