Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!
# Song Title   Time
1)    Intro
2)    Evening Prayer, An
3)    City Called Heaven, A
4)    I'm on My Way
5)    It Don't Cost Very Much
6)    Didn't It Rain
7)    He's Got the Whole World in His Hands
8)    When the Saints Go Marching In
9)    I'm Goin' to Live the Life I Sing About in My Song
10)    Keep Your Hand on the Plow
11)    Lord's Prayer, The
12)    Walk Over God's Heaven
13)    Joshua Fit the Battle of Jericho
14)    Jesus Met the Woman at the Well
15)    His Eye Is on the Sparrow
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Mahalia Jackson (vocals), Mildred Falls (piano), Lilton Mitchell (organ), Tom Bryant (bass).
  • Reissue producer: Nedra Olds-Neal.
  • Recorded live at the Newport Jazz Festival, Newport, Rhode Island on July 6, 1958. Includes liner notes by Leslie Gourse.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • This is part of the Columbia Jazz Masterpieces series.
  • On a Sunday morning at the 1958 Newport Jazz Festival, Mahalia Jackson took the stage and gave a performance that was recognized by fans and critics alike as one of her finest. This album documents that concert, and captures her deep soulfulness, irrepressible exuberance, and the passion of her Christian conviction. Introduced to the audience as "the world's greatest gospel singer," Jackson upholds that claim, unleashing a style that draws from Bessie Smith as much as European church music.
  • The program consists of traditional songs like "He's Got the Whole World in His Hands" and "When the Saints Go Marching In," with Jackson's soaring alto infusing the tunes with new life. At times, Jackson seems somber and pious, as on the stirringly dramatic "A City Called Heaven." However, on "Didn't It Rain," she's nearly bursting at the seams, overflowing with spirit and rollicking, syncopated swing. Backed primarily by solo piano, Jackson carries the show by herself, with her larger-than-life talent cast in sharp relief by the stark instrumentation. The 1994 CD reissue of this landmark performance includes previously unissued tracks (most notably one song with Duke Ellington and his orchestra), remastered sound, and extensive liner notes.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » General » Christian
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling MAHALIA JACKSON LIVE AT NEWPORT 1958 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top